Back to IndieWire

‘Game of Thrones’ Leads 2016 American Society of Cinematographers Awards TV Nominees

The winners will be revealed on February 4, 2017 in Los Angeles.

Game of THrones Battle of the Bastards

“Game of Thrones”


The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) have announced the television nominees for their 31st annual Outstanding Achievement Awards.

This year “Game of Thrones” received two nominations, more than any other show. Anette Haellmigk and Fabian Wagner are both receiving their third nominations for the HBO show. Haellmigk was previously nominated for the series in 2014 and 2015, and Wagner in 2015 and 2016. 

Other notable nominees include Christopher Norr who is receiving his third consecutive nomination for his work on “Gotham,” and Richard Rutkowski gets his second nomination for “Manhattan.” New series receiving praise this year include “Westworld” and “The Exorcist.”

READ MORE: Sundance 2017 Announces Short Selections, With New Films From Kristen Stewart, Laura Poitras and Many More

The nominees were selected by ASC active members who voted on submissions. This year’s winners will be revealed on February 4, 2017, at the organization’s annual ceremony at the Hollywood & Highland Ray Dolby Ballroom in Los Angeles.

Check out the nomination below.

Regular Series for Non-Commercial Television
John Conroy for “Penny Dreadful,” “The Day Tennyson Died” (SHOWTIME)
David Dunlap for “House of Cards,” “Chapter 45” (NETFLIX)
Anette Haellmigk for “Game of Thrones,” “Book of the Stranger” (HBO)
Neville Kidd for “Outlander,” “Prestonpans” (STARZ)
Fabian Wagner, BSC for “Game of Thrones,” “Battle of the Bastards” (HBO)

Regular Series for Commercial Television
Tod Campbell for “Mr. Robot,” “eps2.0_unm4sk-pt1.tc” (USA)
John Grillo for “Preacher,” “Finish the Song” (AMC)
Kevin McKnight for “Underground,” “The Macon 7” (WGN)
Christopher Norr for “Gotham,” “Wrath of the Villains: Mr. Freeze” (FOX)
Richard Rutkowski for “Manhattan,” “Jupiter” (WGN)

Movie, Miniseries, or Pilot for Television
Balazs Bolygo, HSC, BSC for “Harley and the Davidsons,” “Amazing Machine” (DISCOVERY)
Paul Cameron, ASC for “Westworld,” “The Original” (HBO)
Jim Denault, ASC for “All The Way” (HBO)
Alex Disenhof for “The Exorcist,” “Chapter One: And Let My Cry Come Unto Thee” (FOX)
Igor Martinovic for “The Night Of,” “Subtle Beast” (HBO)

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Television and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox