Back to IndieWire

Costa Rica International Film Festival Announces Winners to Fifth Edition

The five-year-old festival featured 72 films from around the world that screened between December 8 and December 17.

Clockwise from left: Roya Eshragi, Nathalie Álvarez Mesén, Sofia Quiros and Cristóbal Serrá Jorquera


The Costa Rica International Film Festival has announced the full list of winners from its fifth edition. An initiative of the Ministry of Culture and Youth’s Film Center, this year’s festival included 72 films from around the world and ran from December 8 to December 17 in San Jose.

READ MORE: Costa Rica’s Big Movie Dreams: How a Country With 150 Theaters Plans to Improve the Central America Film Industry

The jurors of the 2016 fest announced the competition and audience award winners in each of the festival’s three categories at the closing ceremony Saturday at the Magaly Theater.

“After 10 intense days, the 2016 edition of the Costa Rica International Film Festival comes to an end, having firmly established that it is committed not just to national and Central American cinema, but to strengthening its ties with audiences, whose numbers swelled this year compared to the 2015 edition,” CRFIC Artistic Director Marcelo Quesada said in a statement. “With each passing year, CRFIC has gained increasing recognition as a showcase for contemporary cinema in all its diversity.”

The jury of the Central American Competition was comprised of Maximiliano Cruz (Mexico), Gustavo Beck (Brazil) and Maricarmen Merino (Costa Rica).

“For a country that is making more and more films of an increasingly higher standard, the CRFIC should serve as a platform to incentivize production, provoke reflection and shape new audiences,” Film Center Director Fernando Rodríguez said in the statement. “The 2016 edition surpassed the previous one in terms of its potential as a forum for the promotion of new audiovisual values in our country and Central America as a region.”

READ MORE: Costa Rica: How a Tiny Film Community Spawned a Generation of Filmmakers

The full list of winners are:

Central American Competition

Best Central American Feature Film and Best National Feature Film:

“Abrázame como antes” by Jurgen Ureña (Costa Rica)

Special Jury Prize:

“El sonido de las cosas” by Ariel Escalante (Costa Rica)

Special Mention:

“La felicidad del sonido” by Ana Endara (Panama)

International Feature Film Competition

Best International Feature Film:

“Tempestad” by Tatiana Huezo (Mexico)

Special Jury Prize:

“El futuro Perfecto” by Nele Wohlatz (Argentina)

National Short Film Competition

Best National Short Film:

“El Árbol” by Roya Eshraghi (Costa Rica-Cuba)

Special Jury Prize:

“Los Konceptualez” by Juan Pablo Castillo (Costa Rica)

Special Mention:

“Cabeza de Orquídea” by Angélica (Costa Rica-Spain)

“Sánchez and Filip” by Nathalie Álvarez (Costa Rica)

Audience Awards

International Feature Film Competition:

“The Land of the Enlightened” by Pieter-Jan De Pue (Belgium/Ireland/Holland/Germany/ Afghanistan)

National Short Film Competition:

“Belleza, valentía y fortaleza en la ocupada Cisjordania” by Glorianna Ximendaz (Costa Rica)

Central American Feature Film Competition:

“Los ofendidos” by Marcela Zamora (El Salvador)

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox