Back to IndieWire

‘Orange is the New Black’ Wins SAG Award For Best Ensemble In a Comedy Series

The SAG awards were aired live on TBS.

Danielle Brooks, Samira Wiley, Uzo Aduba and Selenis Leyva in "Orange is the New Black."

Danielle Brooks, Samira Wiley, Uzo Aduba and Selenis Leyva in “Orange is the New Black.”

K C Bailey/Netflix

Tonight at the SAG Awards, “Orange is the New Black” beat out all other comers for the Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series. The ensemble cast includes Uzo Aduba, Alan Aisenberg, Danielle Brooks, Blair Brown, Jackie Cruz, Lea DeLaria, Beth Dover, Kimiko Glenn, Annie Golden, Laura Gómez, Diane Guerrero, Michael J. Harney, Brad William Henke, Vicky Jeudy, Julie Lake, Selenis Leyva, Natasha Lyonne, Taryn Manning, James McMenamin, Adrienne C. Moore, Kate Mulgrew, Emma Myles, Matt Peters, Lori Petty, Jessica Pimentel, Dascha Polanco, Laura Prepon, Jolene Purdy, Elizabeth Rodriguez, Nick Sandow, Abigail Savage, Taylor Schilling, Constance Shulman, Dale Soules, Yael Stone, Lin Tucci, and Samira Wiley.

READ MORE: ‘Orange is the New Black’ Cast Speaks Out Against Hollywood’s Low Standards for Women in Fiery SAG Sizzle Reel

There was some tough competition to be had in this category, with veteran “The Big Bang Theory” having been nominated six times with no wins, and previous winners “Modern Family” (four consecutive wins) and “Orange is the New Black” (two consecutive wins) each getting nods. “Veep” has also been nominated three previous times with no wins, while “Black-ish” was a newcomer to the category.

The Screen Actors Guild Awards were presented Sunday, January 29 at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. Presenters included Sophia Bush, Common, Rashida Jones, Alia Shawkat, Steven Yeun, and “Stranger Things” stars Millie Bobby Brown, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin and Finn Wolfhard.

Stay on top of the latest film and TV news! Sign up for our email newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox