Back to IndieWire

Sundance 2017: Female-Focused Horizon Award Honors Two Emerging Filmmakers

Now in its third year, the award seeks to honor emerging female filmmakers from around the world.

Christine Vachon (co-Founder), Lynette Howell Taylor (co-Founder), Cassian Elwes (co-Founder), Shivani Rawat, Brittany “B Monét” Fennell, Sharon Lawrence, Dee Rees, Andy Villanueva, Carey Mulligan and Jack Black

Dan Campbell / Horizon Award

The Horizon Award returned to the Sundance Film Festival and Park City, Utah on Sunday night to announce the winners of their third annual event. Co-founded by Cassian Elwes, Lynette Howell Taylor and Christine Vachon, the Horizon Award seeks to honor emerging filmmakers from around the world.

This year’s winners included Brittany “B Monét” Fennell and Andy Villanueva, who both submitted their self-directed short film (two minutes or less) for consideration. They were both awarded a cash prize during the event, and came to Sundance as part of an all-expense paid mentorship to the festival. ShivHans Pictures CEO Shivani Rawat also donated $25,000 to the Horizon Award winners for continuing education and sponsorship on film projects.

READ MORE: The 2017 IndieWire Sundance Bible: Every Review, Interview and News Item Posted During the Festival

Of the event, Rawat commented, “Being a woman in a largely male-dominated field presents challenges, one of which is balancing the serious gender and diversity gap within the filmmaking community. As a young, Indian-American female producer myself this is a personal challenge, which is why ShivHans Pictures is proud to support this year’s women filmmakers as a patron of the Horizon Award.”

Six directors judged the final 53 films to select the two winners, including Catherine Hardwicke, Kimberly PierceJamie Babbit, Karyn Kusama, Tina Mabry and Vicky Jensen. Presenters at the event included Jack Black, Carey Mulligan, Sharon Lawrence and Dee Rees.

READ MORE: Park City Women’s March: Massive Crowd Turns Out to Protest Donald Trump During Sundance

The 3rd Annual Horizon Award also celebrated their partnerships with new and returning sponsors: The Adrienne Shelly Foundation, Sundance Institute, Women In Film (WIF) Los Angeles, The Black List, CreativeFuture, The Creative Mind Group, ScreenEngine, MPRM, Twitter, MPAA, WME, and ShivHans Pictures.

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox