Back to IndieWire

Cannes: Barry Jenkins, Cristian Mungiu and More Are Set for Jury Duty

Uma Thurman, Maren Ade and Fan Bingbing are among their fellow jurors.

Barry Jenkins Academy Awards

Barry Jenkins

Stewart Cook/REX/Shutterstock

Cannes has announced the full list of actors, filmmakers and other artists on jury duty at this year’s edition of the festival, with the likes of Barry Jenkins, Cristian Mungiu and Joachim Lafosse joining the already-announced jurors. That includes Uma Thurman, who’s serving as President of the Un Certain Regard section, as well as Athina Rachel Tsangari, Maren Ade, Pedro Almodóvar, Park Chan-wook, Jessica Chastain, Will Smith and Fan Binbing.

Monica Bellucci will serve as master of ceremonies for opening and closing night of the festival, which runs from May 17–28.

READ MORE: Cannes: ‘Dogtooth’ Made Yorgos Lanthimos One of the Most Exciting Filmmakers in the World, and He’s Just Getting Started

Un Certain Regard Jury

The Un Certain Regard Jury will award its prizes to the winners, chosen from its selection of 18 films, during the Closing Ceremony on Saturday, May, 27th in the Debussy Theatre. The opening film is Barbara, directed by Mathieu Amalric (France).

Uma Thurman – President
Actress (USA)

Mohamed Diab
Director (Egypt)

Reda Kateb
Actor (France)

Joachim Lafosse
Director (Belgium)

Karel Och
Artistic director of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival (Czech Republic)

The Caméra d’or Jury

The Caméra d’or gathers first films from the Official Selection, the Semaine de la Critique and the Directors’ Fortnight. It will be handed out during the Awards Ceremony on Sunday, May, 28th in the Grand Theatre Lumière.

Sandrine Kiberlain – President
Actress (France)

Patrick Blossier (AFC)
Cinematographer (France)

Elodie Bouchez
Actress (France)

Guillaume Brac (SRF)
Director, producer (France)

Thibault Carterot (FICAM)
President M141 (France)

Fabien Gaffez (SFCC)
Writer, cinema critic (France)

Michel Merkt
Producer (Suisse)

READ MORE: Cannes 2017: 22 Films We Can’t Wait to See at This Year’s Festival

The Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury

The Jury will be awarding prizes for three of the 16 student films shown as part of the Cinéfondation selection.
The Cinéfondation Prizes will be announced by the Jury on Friday, May, 26th at an Awards Ceremony in the Buñuel Theatre, which will be followed by a screening of the winning films.

The Jury must also name the Short Film Palme d’or winner from among the 9 films in Competition selected. This will be awarded at the Awards Ceremony of the 70th Festival de Cannes on Sunday, May, 28th in the Grand Theatre Lumière.

Cristian Mungiu – President
Director, screenwriter, producer (Romania)

Clotilde Hesme
Actress (France)

Barry Jenkins
Director, screenwriter (USA)

Eric Khoo
Director, screenwriter, producer (Singapore)

Athina Rachel Tsangari
Director, screenwriter, producer (Greece)

Feature Films Jury

The winners will be announced by the Feature Films Jury in the Grand Théâtre Lumière on Sunday 28th May at the Awards Ceremony, following which the Palme d’or will be awarded in the presence of the winning team.

Pedro Almodóvar – President
Director, Screenwriter, Producer (Spain)

Maren Ade
Director, Screenwriter, Producer (Germany)

Jessica Chastain
Actress, Producer (USA)

Fan Bingbing
Actress, Producer (China)

Agnès Jaoui
Actress, Screenwriter, Director, Singer (France)

Park Chan-wook
Director, Screenwriter, Producer (South Korea)

Will Smith
Actor, Producer, Musician (USA)

Paolo Sorrentino
Director, Screenwriter (Italy)

Gabriel Yared
Composer (France)

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox