You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

New York Film Critics Circle Sets Late November Voting Date, Kicking Off Awards Season

The NYFCC is typically the first critics-led organization to announce their winners, getting a major jump on the season and helping set the stage for the weeks to come.

The New York Film Critics Circle has announced the date for its annual vote on the best films and performances of the year, taking place this year on Thursday, November 30, 2017, followed by its annual Gala Awards dinner on Wednesday, January 3, 2018. As is the organization’s tradition, winners will be announced on Twitter during the annual meeting. New members will be announced in October, after their annual meeting on October 20.

Only a handful of other voting bodies go before the NYFCC, including the Gotham Awards (November 27) and the National Board of Review (November 28). The NYFCC is typically the first critics-led organization to announce its winners, getting a major jump on the season and helping set the stage for the weeks to come. IndieWire’s own Deputy Editor and Chief Critic Eric Kohn serves as this year’s Chairman, with Buzzfeed’s Alison Wilmore serving as Vice Chair and Marshall Fine continuing on as General Manager.

In an official statement, Kohn said, “As the oldest institution of its kind in America, the NYFCC represents much more than an awards season hype machine, but that doesn’t mean we aren’t excited about giving out some awards in a year loaded with so many possibilities. We’re looking forward to spirited debates — not only on our voting date but in the weeks leading up to it — as we make our way through the last few major fall season films, while looking back on the year as a whole. We also hope to welcome some new members and continue to expand our presence with events around town.”

Founded in 1935, the New York Film Critics Circle is the oldest and most prestigious in the country. The circle’s membership includes critics from daily and weekly newspapers, magazines, and the web’s most respected online publications.

Check out our awards calendar, and our Oscar Predictions right here.

A full list of voting members is below:

Eric Kohn (Chair)

Alison Willmore (Vice Chair)

Marshall Fine (General Manager)

John Anderson

Melissa Anderson
The Village Voice

Michael Atkinson
The Village Voice

Richard Brody
The New Yorker

Dwight Brown
NNPA Syndication

Bilge Ebiri
The Village Voice

David Edelstein
New York Magazine

David Fear
Rolling Stone

Graham Fuller
Culture Trip

Owen Gleiberman

Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine

Rafer Guzman

Jordan Hoffman
The Guardian

Richard Lawson
Vanity Fair

Joe Morgenstern
The Wall Street Journal

Farran Smith Nehme
New York Post

Nick Pinkerton

Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor

Rex Reed
New York Observer

Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out New York

Alan Scherstuhl
The Village Voice

Matt Zoller Seitz

Matt Singer

Kyle Smith
New York Post

Dana Stevens

Sara Stewart
New York Post

Amy Taubin

Peter Travers
Rolling Stone

Keith Uhlich

Stephen Whitty
The Star-Ledger

Stephanie Zacharek
Time Magazine

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here. 

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox