Back to IndieWire

Student Academy Award Winners Revealed: These 17 Shorts Will Now Be Eligible for an Oscar

These 17 university filmmakers join the ranks of Cary Fukunaga, Spike Lee, and Trey Parker as Student Academy Award winners.

"4.1" was a 2016 Student Academy Award winner and went on to receive an Oscar nomination for Best Documentary Short

“4.1” was a 2016 Student Academy Award winner and went on to receive an Oscar nomination for Best Documentary Short

The Academy

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the 44th Student Academy Award winners today. The 17 winners were selected from 1,587 films, which came from 356 different international colleges and universities — 267 domestic, 89 international — and were voted on by Academy members.

There’s a long history of Student Academy Award winners going on to have successful filmmaking careers, with previous winners including Patricia Cardoso, Pete Docter, Cary Fukunaga, John Lasseter, Spike Lee, Trey Parker, and Robert Zemeckis.

Also of note, the 17 winners are automatically Oscar eligible in the Best Short Film categories: Animation, Documentary, and Live Action. Past student award winners have gone on the receive 57 Oscar nominations and won 11 times.

The 44th Student Academy Awards ceremony will held at the The Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills on October 12th. Tickets to the ceremony are free and available to the public at the Academy’s website. A complete list of the winners is below.

Last Year's Winners: 2016 Student Academy Award Winners

Last Year’s Winners: 2016 Student Academy Award Winners

The Academy

The 2017 Student Academy Award Winners:

Alternative (Domestic Film Schools)
“Opera of Cruelty,” Max R. A. Fedore, New York University

Animation (Domestic Film Schools)
“Cradle,” Devon Manney, University of Southern California
“E-delivery,” Young Gul Cho, School of Visual Arts
“In a Heartbeat,” Beth David and Esteban Bravo, Ringling College of Art and Design

Documentary (Domestic Film Schools)
“Hale,” Brad Bailey, University of California, Berkeley
“On Pointe,” Priscilla Thompson and Joy Jihyun Jeong, Columbia University
“One Way Home,” Qingzi Fan, New York University

Narrative (Domestic Film Schools)
“Mammoth,” Ariel Heller, University of Southern California
“My Nephew Emmett,” Kevin Wilson, Jr., New York University
“Who’s Who in Mycology,” Marie Dvorakova, New York University

Narrative (International Film Schools)
“Facing Mecca,” Jan-Eric Mack, Zurich University of the Arts (Switzerland)
“Watu Wote/All of Us,” Katja Benrath, Hamburg Media School (Germany)
“When Grey is a Colour,” Marit Weerheijm, Netherlands Film Academy (Netherlands)

Animation (International Film Schools)
“Life Smartphone,” Chenglin Xie, China Central Academy of Fine Arts (China)

Documentary (International Film Schools)
“Galamsey,” Johannes Preuss, Filmakademie Baden-Wurttemberg (Germany)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox