Back to IndieWire

VES Awards Nominations: ‘Blade Runner 2049’ and ‘War for the Planet of the Apes’ Are Top Film Contenders

The two action adventures each scored a lucky seven nods from the Visual Effects Society.

Blade Runner 2049

“Blade Runner 2049”

Warner Bros.

Outstanding Animated Character in an Animated Feature

“Coco; Hèctor” (Emron Grover, Jonathan Hoffman, Michael Honsel, and Guilherme Sauerbronn Jacinto)

“Despicable Me 3; Bratt” (Eric Guillon, Bruno Dequier, Julien Soret, and Benjamin Fournet)

“The LEGO Ninjago Movie; Garma Mecha Man” (Arthur Terzis, Wei He, Jean-Marc Ariu, and Gibson Radsavanh)

“The Boss Baby; Boss Baby” (Alec Baldwin, Carlos Puertolas, Rani Naamani, and Joe Moshier)

“The LEGO Ninjago Movie; Garmadon” (Matthew Everitt, Christian So, Loic Miermont, and Fiona Darwin)


Outstanding Animated Character in an Episode or Real-Time Project

“Black Mirror: Metalhead” (Steven Godfrey, Stafford Lawrence, Andrew Robertson, and Lestyn Roberts)

“Game of Thrones; Beyond the Wall; Zombie Polar Bear” (Paul Story, Todd Labonte, Matthew Muntean, and Nicholas Wilson)

“Game of Thrones; Eastwatch; Drogon Meets Jon” (Jonathan Symmonds, Thomas Kutschera, Philipp Winterstein, and Andreas Krieg)

“Game of Thrones; The Spoils of War; Drogon Loot Train Attack” (Murray Stevenson, Jason Snyman, Jenn Taylor, and Florian Friedmann)


Outstanding Animated Character in a Commercial

“Beyond Good and Evil 2; Zhou Yuzhu” (Dominique Boidin, Maxime Luère, Leon Berelle, and Remi Kozyra)

“Mercedes Benz; King of the Jungle” (Steve Townrow, Joseph Kane, Greg Martin, and Gabriela Ruch Salmeron)

“Netto; The Easter Surprise; Bunny” (Alberto Lara, Jorge Montiel, Anotine Mariez, and Jon Wood)

“Samsung; Do What You Can’t; Ostrich” (David Bryan, Maximilian Mallmann, Tim Van Hussen, and Brendan Fagan)


Outstanding Created Environment in a Photoreal Feature

Blade Runner 2049; Los Angeles” (Chris McLaughlin, Rhys Salcombe, Seungjin Woo, and Francesco Dell’Anna)

“Blade Runner 2049; Trash Mesa” (Didier Muanza, Thomas Gillet, Guillaume Mainville, and Sylvain Lorgeau)

“Blade Runner 2049; Vegas” (Eric Noel, Arnaud Saibron, Adam Goldstein, and Pascal Clement)

War for the Planet of the Apes; Hidden Fortress” (Greg Notzelman, James Shaw, Jay Renner, and Gak Gyu Choi)

“War for the Planet of the Apes; Prison Camp” (Phillip Leonhardt, Paul Harris, Jeremy Fort, and Thomas Lo)


Outstanding Created Environment in an Animated Feature

“Cars 3; Abandoned Racetrack” (Marlena Fecho, Thidaratana Annee Jonjai, Jose L. Ramos Serrano, Frank Tai)

“Coco; City of the Dead” (Michael Frederickson, Jamie Hecker, Jonathan Pytko, and Dave Strick)

“Despicable Me 3; Hollywood Destruction” (Axelle De Cooman, Pierre Lopes, Milo Riccarand, and Nicolas Brack)

“The LEGO Ninjago Movie; Ninjago City” (Kim Taylor, Angela Ensele, Felicity Coonan, and Jean Pascal leBlanc)


Outstanding Created Environment in an Episode, Commercial, or Real-Time Project

“Assassin’s Creed Origins; City of Memphis” (Patrick Limoges, Jean-Sebastien Guay, Mikael Guaveia, and Vincent Lombardo)

“Game of Thrones; Beyond the Wall; Frozen Lake” (Daniel Villalba, Antonio Lado, José Luis Barreiro, and Isaac de la Pompa)

“Game of Thrones; Eastwatch” (Patrice Poissant, Deak Ferrand, Dominic Daigle, and Gabriel Morin)

“Still Star-Crossed; City” (Rafael Solórzano, Isaac de la Pompa, José Luis Barreiro, and Óscar Perea)

“Stranger Things 2; The Gate” (Saul Galbiati, Michael Maher, Seth Cobb, and Kate McFadden)


Outstanding Virtual Cinematography in a Photoreal Project

“Beauty and the Beast; Be Our Guest” (Shannon Justison, Casey Schatz, Neil Weatherley, and Claire Michaud)

“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2; Groot Dance/Opening Fight” (James Baker, Steven Lo, Alvise Avati, and Robert Stipp)

“Star Wars: The Last Jedi; Crait Surface Battle” (Cameron Nielsen, Albert Cheng, John Levin, and Johanes Kurnia)

“Thor: Ragnarok; Valkyrie’s Flashback” (Hubert Maston, Arthur Moody, Adam Paschke, and Casey Schatz)


Outstanding Model in a Photoreal or Animated Project

“Blade Runner 2049; LAPD Headquarters” (Alex Funke, Steven Saunders, Joaquin Loyzaga, and Chris Menges)

“Despicable Me 3; Dru’s Car” (Eric Guillon, François-Xavier Lepeintre, Guillaume Boudeville, and Pierre Lopes)

“Life; The ISS” (Tom Edwards, Chaitanya Kshirsagar, Satish Kuttan, and Paresh Dodia)

“US Marines; Anthem; Monument” (Tom Bardwell, Paul Liaw, and Adam Dewhirst)


Outstanding Effects Simulations in a Photoreal Feature

“Kong: Skull Island” (Florent Andorra, Alexis Hall, Raul Essig, and Branko Grujcic)

“Only the Brave; Fire & Smoke” (Georg Kaltenbrunner, Thomas Bevan, Philipp Zaufel, and Himanshu Joshi)

“Star Wars: The Last Jedi; Bombing Run” (Peter Kyme, Miguel Perez Senent, Ahmed Gharraph, and Billy Copley)

“Star Wars: The Last Jedi; Mega Destroyer Destruction” (Mihai Cioroba, Ryoji Fujita, Jiyong Shin, and Dan Finnegan)

“War for the Planet of the Apes” (David Caeiro Cebrián, Johnathan Nixon, Chet Leavai, and Gary Boyle)


Outstanding Effects Simulations in an Animated Feature

“Cars 3” (Greg Gladstone, Stephen Marshall, Leon JeongWook Park, and Tim Speltz)

“Coco” (Kristopher Campbell, Stephen Gustafson, Dave Hale, and Keith Klohn)

“Despicable Me 3” (Bruno Chauffard, Frank Baradat, Milo Riccarand, and Nicolas Brack)

“Ferdinand” (Yaron Canetti, Allan Kadkoy, Danny Speck, and Mark Adams)

“The Boss Baby” (Mitul Patel, Gaurav Mathur, and Venkatesh Kongathi)


Outstanding Effects Simulations in an Episode, Commercial, or Real-Time Project

“Game of Thrones; Beyond the Wall; Frozen Lake” (Manuel Ramírez, Óscar Márquez, Pablo Hernández, and David Gacituaga)

“Game of Thrones; The Dragon and the Wolf; Wall Destruction” (Thomas Hullin, Dominik Kirouac, Sylvain Nouveau, and Nathan Arbuckle)

“Heineken; The Trailblazers” (Christian Bohm, Andreu Lucio Archs, Carsten Keller, and Steve Oakley)

“Outlander; Eye of the Storm; Stormy Seas” (Jason Mortimer, Navin Pinto, Greg Teegarden, and Steve Ong)


Outstanding Compositing in a Photoreal Feature

“Blade Runner 2049; LAPD Approach and Joy Holograms” (Tristan Myles, Miles Lauridsen, Joel Delle-Vergin, and Farhad Mohasseb)

“Kong: Skull Island” (Nelson Sepulveda, Aaron Brown, Paolo Acri, and Shawn Mason)

“Thor: Ragnarok; Bridge Battle” (Gavin McKenzie, David Simpson, Owen Carroll, and Mark Gostlow)

“War for the Planet of the Apes” (Christoph Salzmann, Robin Hollander, Ben Morgan, and Ben Warner)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox