Back to IndieWire

Academy Board of Governors Re-Elects John Bailey as President

After a tumultuous first term, Bailey gets one more year as AMPAS president.

Academy governors Carol Littleton and Gregory Nava flank John Bailey in Telluride.

Pamela Gentile

As expected, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Board of Governors re-elected president John Bailey for his second one-year term on Tuesday night (August 7). They meet every August to pick their officers for the next year.

It’s been a tumultuous year for Director of Photography Bailey (“Ordinary People”), who after 15 years on the Board representing the Cinematographers branch, had to withstand a leaked sexual harassment investigation; he was exonerated. More often than not, incumbents get another shot, unless a strong viable challenger comes forward.

The 54-member board is made up of three governors each from 17 branches who serve three-year terms. Academy presidents can serve four one-year terms in a row, but having served two consecutive terms on the board of governors, Bailey has one year to go. His wife, editor Carol Littleton, also serves on the board.

Bailey, who turns 76 on Friday, is a strong representative of the crafts — and fights to keep them on the ratings-challenged Oscar telecast–but does not have everyone behind him. Nonetheless, he got one more year of service. He is continuing to fight for membership diversity and rules reform, especially on the foreign committee.

As expected, the following were elected to officer positions by the Board:

Re-elected were Makeup and Stylists branch, Lois Burwell, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee), Fox Searchlight co-chairman, Nancy Utley, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee), Paramount chief executive Jim Gianopulos, Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee), and Casting director David Rubin, Secretary (chair, Membership and Administration Committee).

Returning to the board after a hiatus is producer Sid Ganis, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee), who served as as Academy President from 2005-2009. Screenwriter Larry Karaszewski becomes an Officer for the first time, as Vice President (chair, Preservation and History Committee), replacing producer Kathleen Kennedy, who chose not to seek board re-election.

A full list of the Academy’s 2018-19 Board of Governors is here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox