Back to IndieWire

‘The Americans’ Wins Big, but ‘Atlanta’ Is Shut Out at the Television Critics Association Awards

Other honorees include “Killing Eve” and a posthumous trophy for Anthony Bourdain’s “Parts Unknown.”

THE AMERICANS -- "Start" -- Season 6, Episode 10 -- (Airs Wednesday, May 30, 10:00 pm/ep) Pictured: (l-r) Keri Russell as Elizabeth Jennings, Matthew Rhys as Philip Jennings. CR: Jeffrey Neira/FX

“The Americans”

Jeffrey Neira/FX

The Americans” had plenty to celebrate Saturday night as it led the field with three wins at the annual Television Critics Association Awards. The acclaimed FX series about two KGB officers who pose as a married couple in America during the Cold War made this year its swan song, bidding dasvidanya for good after its sixth season.

In honor of that last Russian ride, TV critics and journalists awarded the show trophies for the Program of the Year, Outstanding Achievement in Drama, and Individual Achievement in Drama for its star Keri Russell. Since the TCA Awards are gender-blind, Russell’s win means that she beat out her co-star Matthew Rhys, who was also nominated in the category.

FX Network also took home the Movies and Miniseries award for the anthology series “The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story.” In a surprising turn of events, the highly acclaimed second season of “Atlanta” went home with nothing despite earning two nominations this year and taking home awards for Comedy and Individual Achievement in Comedy last year.

Also notable were wins for BBC America’s “Killing Eve” for Outstanding New Program and a bittersweet posthumous trophy for the late Anthony Bourdain’s “Parts Unknown” in the News and Information category.

Still alive and leaving a helluva legacy is “One Day at a Time” star Rita Moreno, who nabbed the Lifetime Achievement award for still stealing scenes in her eighth decade.

And finally, the coveted Heritage Award went to “Friends,” just one year shy of the 25th anniversary of its premiere.

Check out the full list of TCA 2018 winners below:

  • Individual Achievement in Drama: Keri Russell, “The Americans” (FX)
  • Individual Achievement in Comedy: Rachel Brosnahan, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon)
  • Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: “Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” (CNN)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: “Queer Eye” (Netflix)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: “Sesame Street” (HBO)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Sketch/Variety Shows: “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO)
  • Outstanding New Program: “Killing Eve” (BBC America)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Movies And Miniseries: “The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story” (FX)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Drama: “The Americans” (FX)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: “The Good Place” (NBC)
  • Program of the Year: “The Americans”
  • Heritage Award: “Friends” (NBC)
  • Lifetime Achievement Honoree: Rita Moreno

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox