Back to IndieWire

Venice Film Festival Awards: ‘Roma’ Wins the Golden Lion as ‘The Favourite’ Lives Up to Its Name

Willem Dafoe, "The Sisters Brothers," and "The Nightingale" won big as well.




To the surprise of no one in attendance, “Roma” has won the Golden Lion. Alfonso Cuarón’s wrenching drama has emerged as the most critically acclaimed film on the festival circuit this year, and has been widely expected to take home Venice’s top prize since premiering there last week. Yorgos Lanthimos’ “The Favourite” proved to be a hit as well, taking home Best Actress for a never-better Olivia Colman and the Grand Jury Prize as well.

Other big winners include Best Actor Willem Dafoe, whose masterful performance as Vincent van Gogh drives Julian Schnabel’s “At Eternity’s Gate,” and the Coen Brothers, who took home Best Screenplay laurels for “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs.” Notable films that left the Lido empty-handed include Brady Corbet’s “Vox Lux,” László Nemes’ “Sunset,” and Luca Guadagnino’s polarizing “Suspiria” remake.

Cuarón’s close friend Guillermo del Toro led this year’s jury after winning the Golden Lion for “The Shape of Water” last year; the film went on to win Best Picture and Best Director at the Academy Awards. Joining him on jury duty were Sylvia Chang, Trine Dyrholm, Nicole Garcia, Paolo Genovese, Małgorzata Szumowska, Taika Waititi, Christoph Waltz, and Naomi Watts.


"The Favourite"

“The Favourite”

Fox Searchlight

Golden Lion for Best Film
“Roma,” dir: Alfonso Cuarón

Grand Jury Prize
“The Favourite,” dir: Yorgos Lanthimos

Best Director
Jacques Audiard, “The Sisters Brothers”

Volpi Cup, Best Actress
Olivia Colman, “The Favourite”

Volpi Cup, Best Actor
Willem Dafoe, “At Eternity’s Gate”

Best Screenplay
Joel & Ethan Coen, “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs”

Special Jury Prize
“The Nightingale,” dir: Jennifer Kent

Marcello Mastroianni Award for for Best New Young Actor or Actress
Baykali Ganambarr, “The Nightingale”




Best Film
“Manta Ray,” dir: Phuttiphong Aroonpheng

Best Director
“Ozen (The River),” dir: Emir Baigazin

Special Jury Prize
“Anons (The Announcement),” dir: Mahmut Fazil Coskun

Best Actress
Natalya Kudryashova, “The Man Who Surprised Everyone”

Best Actor
Kais Nasif, “Tel Aviv on Fire”

Best Screenplay
Pema Tseden, “Jinpa”

Best Short Film
Kado, dir: Aditya Ahmad

Lion of the Future — “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film
“The Day I Lost My Shadow,” dir: Soudade Kaadan

Virtual Reality

Best VR
“Spheres: Chorus of the Cosmos,” dir: Eliza McNitt

Best VR Experience
“Buddy VR,” dir: Chuck Chae

Best VR Story
“L’Ile Des Morts,” dir: Benjamin Nuel

Venice Classics

The Great Buster: A Celebration

“The Great Buster: A Celebration”

Best Documentary on Cinema
“The Great Buster: A Celebration,” dir: Peter Bogdanovich

Best Restoration
“La Notte Di San Lorenzo,” dirs: Paolo Vittorio Taviani

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox