×
Back to IndieWire

Save the Dates: The 2019-2020 Film Awards Calendar Is Shorter, Tighter, and Stressful

Here's the deadlines and dates for next year's awards race, which will move at breakneck speeds into a jammed pre-Oscar January. Updated October 23, 2019.

An Oscar statue is places inside the ballroom at the 89th Academy Awards Nominees Luncheon in Beverly Hills, Calif. When the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences announced changes to next year's Oscars broadcast, including the controversial creation of a "popular film" category, it prompted a host of questions about what this means for the world's biggest awards showOscars Popularity Contest, Beverly Hills, USA - 6 Feb 2017

Danny Moloshok/Invision/AP/REX/Shutterstock

When the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences threw down the gauntlet with a new show date of February 9, 2020, a full two weeks earlier than this year, they hoped to improve ratings and to shorten what has become a very long road to the Oscars. The ratings will remain to be seen, but already we know that the new date is creating a red-carpet traffic jam worthy of the 405.

The schedule is now so short that the Academy pushed the Scientific and Technical Awards out of the awards season altogether, to June 2020. (They figure these awards aren’t tied to achievements in any specific awards year.)

The Santa Barbara Film Festival, which features conversations and panels with Oscar contenders, is now in the middle of January, rather than February. It will overlap with the Sundance Film Festival, which runs January 23-February 2. To give the Oscars room, the Berlinale is moving later (February 20-March 1, 2020).

As they have for the past two years, the Golden Globes awards will air on the first Sunday in January. The BAFTAs, which are usually two weeks ahead of the Oscars, are now only one week apart.

Popular on IndieWire

Breathing room will be at a premium. This shortened schedule means that Academy members, who often catch up on screeners during the holiday vacation, have less time to watch films before the five-day nomination period begins January 2.

The real impact of this crowded calendar is on indie films, which historically gain momentum at the box office between nominations and Oscars. Now that those dates are less than a month apart, many will be forced to play in the saturated and expensive peak awards-release corridor of November and December. Maybe the battle for screen space could inspire what’s so far seemed nearly impossible: getting awards-worthy movies to consider release dates during the rest of the year.

Here’s the what the awards calendar looks like so far:

Wednesday, October 23, 2019
International Documentary Association Documentary Awards nominees announced

Thursday, October 24, 2019
Gotham Awards nominations announced

Friday, October 25, 2019
BAFTA Britannia Awards
Deadline for Golden Globe motion picture and TV entry forms

Sunday, October 27, 2019
The Academy’s 11th Governors Awards

Wednesday, October 30, 2019
British Independent Film Awards nominations announced

Friday, November 1, 2019
ACE Eddie Awards nominations due
Deadline for Annie Awards submissions
WGA Awards preliminary series online voting begins

Monday, November 4, 2019
International Documentary Association Documentary Awards voting opens
Cinema Audio Society Awards entry submissions due
Deadline for submissions for DGA documentary and first-time feature film director nominations for films released October 1 – December 31

Saturday, November 9, 2019
Documentary Critics Choice Awards
European Film Awards nominees announced

Monday, November 11, 2019
Costume Designers Guild Awards nomination ballot voting opens online at 6:00 a.m. PST

Thursday, November 14, 2019
SAG Awards nominations begin
Deadline for television nomination ballots to be mailed to all HFPA members

Friday, November 15, 2019
WGA Awards deadline for screenplay submissions
Academy Awards submissions due for original score, original song, and general entry categories
British Independent Film Awards craft winners announced

Monday, November 18, 2019
Art Directors Guild Awards nomination voting begins

Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Documentary Producers Guild Awards nominees announced

Thursday, November 21, 2019
Cinema Audio Society Awards nomination ballot voting begins online
Film Independent Spirit Awards press conference
BAFTA stage-two entry submissions due

Friday, November 22, 2019
ASC spotlight award entries due

Monday, November 25, 2019
ASC Awards TV and documentary nominations announced
Deadline for receipt of Golden Globe television nomination ballots
WGA Awards deadline for preliminary series online voting

Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Deadline to submit DGA Award TV and commercials entries
ASC Awards TV and documentary ballots mailed
Golden Globe motion picture nomination ballots mailed to all HFPA members

Thursday, November 28, 2019
Screen Awards

Sunday, December 1, 2019
British Independent Film Awards ceremony

Monday, December 2, 2019
International Documentary Association Documentary Awards voting closes
Annie Awards nominations announced
Online voting for DGA theatrical feature film nominations opens
Gotham Awards

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
National Board of Review winners announced
Costume Designers Guild Awards nomination ballots voting closes at 5:00 p.m. PST

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Cinema Audio Society Awards nomination ballot voting ends online
Final Golden Globes screening
AFI Awards honorees announced

Thursday, December 5, 2019
Final Golden Globes motion picture press conference
WGA Awards nominations announced for television, new media, radio, news, promotional writing, and graphic animation

Friday, December 6, 2019 
Deadline for receipt of Motion Picture Golden Globe nomination ballots by Ernst & Young, at 12:00 p.m. (noon)
Producers Guild Awards nominations for sports, children’s, and short-form programs open
Online voting begins for DGA Awards TV nominations
Art Directors Guild awards nomination voting ends
Preliminary Academy Awards voting begins

Saturday, December 7, 2019
European Film Awards
International Documentary Association Awards

Sunday, December 8, 2019
SAG Awards nominations voting closes

Monday, December 9, 2019
Golden Globes nominations announced
WGA Awards preliminary screenplay online voting begins
Art Directors Guild Awards nominations announced
ACE Eddie Awards nomination ballot due

Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Cinema Audio Society Awards nominees announced
Preliminary Academy Awards voting ends
Costume Designers Guild Awards nominees announced

Wednesday, December 11, 2019
ACE Eddie Awards nominations announced
SAG Awards nominations announced

Thursday, December 12, 2019
Producers Guild Awards nominations for theatrical, series/specials, streamed/TV movies open
BAFTA round one voting begins

Monday, December 16, 2019
Academy Awards shortlists announced
ASC Awards feature film nomination ballots mailed

Tuesday, December 17, 2019
SAG Awards final voting opens

Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Producers Guild Awards nominations for sports, children’s, and short-form programs close
Art Directors Guild Awards final voting begins

Thursday, December 19, 2019
Final Golden Globe ballots mailed to HFPA members
Producers Guild Awards nominees announced, final polls open for sports, children’s, and short-form

Friday, December 20, 2019
BAFTA round one voting ends

Monday, December 30, 2019
Deadline for receipt of completed Golden Globe ballots

Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Annie Awards online voting begins

Thursday, January 2, 2020
Palm Springs International Film Festival awards gala
Oscar nominations voting begins
Cinema Audio Society Awards final voting begins online
WGA Awards deadline for preliminary screenplay online voting
ASC Awards feature film nomination polls close

Friday, January 3, 2020
AFI Awards luncheon
ASC Awards theatrical and spotlight nominations announced
Deadline to vote for DGA Awards TV nominations
Costume Designers Guild Awards final ballot voting opens online at 6:00 a.m. PST

Saturday, January 4, 2020
ASC Awards theatrical and spotlight awards ballot mailed
Film Independent Spirit Awards nominee brunch

Sunday, January 5, 2020
The Golden Globes ceremony will air live coast to coast on NBC
Nominations for WGA Awards for screenplay announced
Producers Guild Awards nomination polls close for theatrical, series/specials and streamed/TV movies
Deadline to vote for DGA theatrical feature film nominations
TV and commercial DGA Awards nominees announced
ACE Eddie Awards final ballots due

Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Oscar nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT
New York Film Critics Circle Awards gala
PGA Theatrical Motion Pictures and Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures nominations announced
WGA Awards final screenplay (original, adapted) and series online voting begins
DGA theatrical feature film nominees announced, online voting opens
DGA Awards first-time feature film director nominees announced
BAFTA nominations announced, round two voting beings

Wednesday, January 8, 2020
National Board of Review gala
Producers Guild Awards polls close for sports, children’s and short-form programs

Saturday, January 11, 2020
Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards

Sunday, January 12, 2020
Critics Choice Awards
Deadline to vote in Annie Awards

Monday, January 13, 2020
Oscar Nominations Announcement

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Cinema Audio Society Awards final voting ends

Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Launch of Santa Barbara International Film Festival

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Producers Guild Awards polls close for theatrical, documentary, series/specials, and streamed/TV movies

Friday, January 17, 2020
70th Annual ACE Eddie Awards
Costume Designers Guild Awards final ballot voting closes at 5:00 p.m. PST
SAG Awards ballots due

Saturday, January 18, 2020
Producers Guild Awards

Sunday, January 19, 2020
SAG Awards ceremony

Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Deadline for WGA Awards for final screenplay (original, adapted) and series online voting
ASC Awards final polls close for all categories

Friday, January 24, 2020
Deadline to vote for DGA theatrical feature film nominees

Saturday, January 25, 2020
Directors Guild Awards
Annie Awards
Cinema Audio Society Awards
ASC Awards
USC Scripter Awards

Monday, January 27, 2020
Oscar Nominees Luncheon

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

Costume Designers Guild Awards

Wednesday, January 29, 2020

BAFTA round two voting closes

Thursday, January 30, 2020
Final Oscar voting begins 8 a.m. PT
Art Directors Guild Awards final voting ends

Saturday, February 1, 2020
Art Directors Guild Awards
WGA Awards

Sunday, February 2, 2020
BAFTA Film Awards

Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Final Oscar voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Saturday, February 8, 2020
Independent Spirit Awards

Sunday, February 9, 2020
92nd Academy Awards 5 p.m. PT

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,


Newswire