Back to IndieWire

2020 IDA Documentary Honorary Awards Laud Filmmakers Sam Pollard, Garrett Bradley, and David France

The nominees for all categories will be revealed on Tuesday, November 24.

Time" (2020)

Combining video diaries the documentary’s key subject, Sibil Fox Richardson (also known as Fox Rich), has recorded of their six children, all boys, for her imprisoned husband Rob G. Rich, over 18 years, with intimate glimpses of her present-day life, director Garrett Bradley paints a mesmerizing portrait of the resilience and radical love necessary to prevail over the endless separations of the country’s prison-industrial complex. But Fox Rich continues to fight, where others may have given up hope, spending the last two decades campaigning for the release of Rob, who is serving a 60-year sentence for a robbery they both committed in the early 90s, in a moment of desperation. “Time” is an engrossing film that chronicles one woman’s unrelenting quest to free her husband from an unjust and unforgiving prison sentence. The film is all Rich Fox, endearing, committed, affectionate, and brave, whose world the audience is invited to live within, but it’s also well-crafted by director Bradley, whose efforts are complemented by a powerful soundtrack featuring original compositions by Jamieson Shaw and Edwin Montgomery, as well as music by Emahoy Tsegué-Maryam Guèbrou — an Ethiopian nun known for her piano compositions — that was recorded in the 1960s.

Amazon Studios

The International Documentary Association (IDA) has today announced the recipients of its 36th Annual IDA Documentary Awards honorary awards. The shortlists for Best Feature and Best Short categories were released in late October, and the nominees for all categories will be revealed on Tuesday, November 24. The 2020 Awards will be presented in a digital ceremony in January 2021.

There is some crossover in today’s listing of honorees, including “Time” filmmaker Garrett Bradley (features shortlist) and “Welcome to Chechnya” filmmaker David France (features shortlist), though the newly minted honorees also include films and filmmakers that didn’t make the initial cut, including lauded documentarian and newly minted Career Achievement Award winner Sam Pollard (who made 2020’s “MLK/FBI”) and films like Ramona S. Diaz’s “A Thousand Cuts,” which didn’t land on the shortlist but did notch a win for its subject Maria Ressa.

This year’s IDA Documentary Awards honorees are:

  • Primetime Emmy-winning and Academy Award-nominated filmmaker Sam Pollard (“MLK/FBI,” “Four Little Girls,” “When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts”) with the Career Achievement Award

  • Filmmaker Garrett Bradley (“Time”) with the Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award

  • Emmy and Peabody Award-winning, Academy Award-nominated producer Regina Scully with the Amicus Award

  • Firelight Media, which produces documentary films, supports emerging filmmakers of color and cultivates audiences for their work, with the Pioneer Award

  • Courage Under Fire Award goes to David France and the film team behind “Welcome to Chechnya” and activists David Isteev (The Russian LGBT Network and Olga Baranova (Moscow Community Center for LGBT+ Initiatives)

  • Journalist Maria Ressa and the Filipino news network Rappler with the Truth to Power Award featured in “A Thousand Cuts” by Ramona S. Diaz

“If we have learned anything from this tumultuous year it is the fundamental and critical importance of speaking the truth,” IDA’s executive director Simon Kilmurry said in a statement. “Without that, democracies are undermined, the corrupt thrive and the marginalized are crushed. All of this year’s honorees are dedicated to speaking the truth and nurturing and supporting the brave filmmakers and activists who continue to shine a light into the darkest corners. We thank them for their work.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox