×
Back to IndieWire

The 2021-2022 Awards Calendar Returns to Normal

Here's the (constantly updated) full calendar of key awards dates.

THE OSCARS® - The 93rd Oscars will be held on Sunday, April 25, 2021, at Union Station Los Angeles and the Dolby® Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center® in Hollywood, and international locations via satellite. "The Oscars" will be televised live on ABC at 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT and in more than 200 territories worldwide. (ABC/AMPAS)EMERALD FENNELL

Emerald Fennell at the 2021 Oscars

ABC / AMPAS

After a year of pandemic delays, the upcoming Oscar season is coming into focus as a return to normal. The Oscars are on March 27, 2022, one month earlier than this year’s delayed Oscars (April 25, 2021) and six weeks later than last year’s (February 9, 2020). The Academy is staying away from both Super Bowl LVI on February 13 as well as the Winter Olympics in Beijing (February 4 through February 20), while leaving plenty of time for Oscar-show planning after the nominations announcement on February 8. And as theaters reopen, with many movies postponed from last year, including rival New York musicals from Jon M. Chu (“In the Heights”) and Steven Spielberg (“West Side Story”), the Academy is staying flexible about eligibility requirements.

One thing missing from the upcoming awards lineup: January’s Golden Globes, which has been canceled as the Hollywood Foreign Press institutes long overdue reforms. Looking to fill that gap is a beefed-up Critics Choice Awards (CCA) on January 9, 2022.

Here’s our (constantly updated) list of awards dates to remember:

Wednesday, September 1, 2021
Venice International Film Festival opens

Thursday, September 2, 2021
Telluride Film Festival opens

Thursday, September 9, 2021
Toronto International Film Festival opens

Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Submissions close for Gotham Awards

Wednesday, September 22, 2021

PGA Awards submission deadline for documentary motion pictures.

Friday, September 24, 2021
New York Film Festival opens

Monday, October 4, 2021
Submissions open for Critics Choice Awards (CCA) TV categories
Submissions open for Art Directors Guild (ADG) TV and feature categories at www.adg.org

Wednesday, October 6, 2021
BFI London Film Festival opens

Wednesday, October 13, 2021

PGA Awards submission deadline for theatrical and animated motion pictures.

Thursday, October 21, 2021
Gotham Awards nominations announced.

Monday, November 8, 2021
Submissions for ADG TV close

Monday, November 15, 2021
Oscar general entry categories submission deadline
Submissions close for CCA TV categories

Wednesday, November 17, 2021
CCA nomination committees begin deliberations

Monday, November 29, 2021
31st Annual Gotham Awards
CCA nomination committees render official recommendations

Monday, November 29, 2021
CCA nominating ballots go out to Film Branch members

Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Critics Choice Awards TV nominations announced

Friday, December 3, 2021
Midnight (PT) deadline for final CCA Film ballots

Monday, December 6, 2021
CCA Film nominations announced 9 a.m. PT

Friday, December 10, 2021
PGA Award nominations announced for documentary motion pictures
Preliminary Oscar voting begins 9 a.m. PT

Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Preliminary Oscar voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Monday, December 20, 2021
Submissions for ADG features close

Tuesday, December 21, 2021
Oscar Shortlists Announcement

Monday, December 27, 2021
Online voting for ADG TV and feature nominations begins

Friday, December 31, 2021
Oscar eligibility period ends

Thursday, January 6, 2022
Palm Springs International Film Festival launches
Final CCA ballots emailed to all members

Friday, January 7, 2022 
CCA deadline for returning final ballots is 9 p.m. PT

Sunday, January 9, 2022
The Critics Choice Awards will air live from 7-10 p.m. ET on The CW Network

Tuesday, January 11, 2022
The National Board of Review annual Awards Gala

Wednesday, January 12, 2022
PGA nomination polls open for theatrical and animated motion pictures.

Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Screen Actors Guild nominations announced

Saturday, January 15, 2022
Academy Governors Awards

Thursday, January 20, 2022

Sundance Film Festival opens

Friday, January 21, 2022
Online ADG voting for all nominations ends 5:00 p.m. PT

Monday, January 24, 2022
ADG nominations announced

Wednesday, January 26, 2022 
PGA nomination polls close at 2pm PST for theatrical and animated motion pictures.

Thursday, January 27, 2022
Oscar nominations voting begins 9 a.m. PT
PGA final voting opens for theatrical and animated motion pictures

Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Thursday, February 3, 2022
Final ADG online voting begins

Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Oscar Nominations Announcement

Thursday, February 10, 2022
Final polls close at 2 pm PT for PGA Awards theatrical, documentary, and animated motion pictures

Saturday, February 26, 2022
PGA Awards held at the Fairmont Century Plaza.

Sunday, February 27, 2022
The 28th annual SAG Awards air on TNT and TBS live from Shrine Exposition Center beginning at 8pm ET / 5pm PT.

Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Santa Barbara International Film Festival launches

Thursday, March 3, 2022
Final ADG online voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Saturday, March 5, 2022
Winners announced at 26th annual ADG Awards

Monday, March 7, 2022
Oscar Nominees Luncheon

Sunday, March 13, 2022
The BAFTA Awards

Thursday, March 17, 2022
Final Oscar voting begins 9 a.m. PT

Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Final Oscar voting ends 5 p.m. PT

Sunday, March 27, 2022
94th Oscars

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,


Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox