Back to IndieWire

Oscar Winners: ‘CODA’ Wins Best Picture — See the Full List

"CODA" took the night's big prize. See the full list of winners here.

Eugenio Derbez, from left, Troy Kotsur, Marlee Matlin, Sian Heder, Emilia Jones, and Daniel Durant arrive at the Oscars on Sunday, March 27, 2022, at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. (AP Photo/Jae C. Hong)

Eugenio Derbez, from left, Troy Kotsur, Marlee Matlin, Sian Heder, Emilia Jones, and Daniel Durant arrive at the Oscars on Sunday, March 27, 2022

Jae C. Hong/Invision/AP

After a long-haul awards season, the 94th annual Academy Awards happened at last. Hollywood’s biggest night saw Oscar statues doled out across 24 categories — though eight of those honors were, controversially, handed out in the hour before the ceremony.

Tonight marked a moment of redemption for many of the most dogged Oscar campaigners, who’ve been on the awards circuit since the fall of 2021. The telecast this year features three hosts: Wanda Sykes, Regina Hall, and Amy Schumer.

But whatever good came out of this evening’s “post”-pandemic Oscars was overshadowed by Best Actor winner Will Smith’s unscripted onstage confrontation of Best Documentary Oscar presenter Chris Rock, who made a joke about his wife Jada Pinkett Smith that did not go over well.

Onward. In any case, they were joined by a variety of musical guests including Beyonce (“King Richard”), Billie Eilish and FINNEAS (“No Time to Die”), Reba McEntire (“Four Good Days”), and Sebastián Yatra (“Encanto”), among other musical guests. Plus, the Academy assembled an “all-star band” featuring the likes of blink-182 drummer and “The Kardashians” star Travis Barker, percussionist and singer Sheila E., and genre-spanning pianist Robert Glasper.

Presenters included Rachel Zegler (arriving at the Oscars after not originally being invited), Lady Gaga, Jake Gyllenhaal, Bill Murray, Jacob Elordi, Venus and Serena Williams, DJ Khaled, Jennifer Garner, H.E.R., Tiffany Haddish, Stephanie Beatriz, Tony Hawk, Bill Murray, Elliot Page, Kelly Slater, Tracee Ellis Ross, Uma Thurman, Kevin Costner, Zoë Kravitz, Rosie Perez, Chris Rock, Ruth E. Carter, Jason Moma, Josh Brolin, Shaun White, and many more — including last year’s acting winners Daniel Kaluuya, Anthony Hopkins, and Yuh-Jung Youn.

As a reminder, last year’s Oscars were dominated by “Nomadland,” winning Best Picture, plus Best Actress Frances McDormand and Best Director Chloe Zhao. Yuh-Jung Youn won Best Supporting Actress for “Minari,” Daniel Kaluuya won Best Supporting Actor for “Judas and the Black Messiah,” and Anthony Hopkins won Best Actor for “The Father.” Last year’s ceremony took place at Union Station in downtown Los Angeles in a limited-capacity pandemic affair. This year, the Oscars are back at the Dolby, albeit with a slightly limited capacity (2,500 vs. the usual 3,300 plus), and as visible on the afternoon red carpet, Hollywood is excited to be back home at the storied venue at Hollywood and Highland.

Best Picture

“CODA” (Winner)
“Don’t Look Up”
“Drive My Car”
“King Richard”
“Licorice Pizza”
“Nightmare Alley”
“The Power of the Dog”
“West Side Story”

Best Actress

Jessica Chastain, “The Eyes of Tammy Faye” (Winner)
Olivia Colman, “The Lost Daughter”
Penelope Cruz, “Parallel Mothers”
Nicole Kidman, “Being the Ricardos”
Kristen Stewart, “Spencer”

Best Actor

Javier Bardem, “Being the Ricardos”
Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Power of the Dog”
Andrew Garfield, “Tick, Tick, Boom”
Will Smith, “King Richard” (Winner)
Denzel Washington, “The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Best Director

Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast”
Ryusuke Hamaguchi, “Drive My Car”
Paul Thomas Anderson, “Licorice Pizza”
Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog” (Winner)
Steven Spielberg, “West Side Story”

Best Original Song

“Be Alive” from “King Richard”
“Dos Oruguitas” from “Encanto”
“Down to Joy” from “Belfast”
“No Time to Die” from “No Time to Die” (Winner)
“Somehow You Do” from “Four Good Days”

Best Documentary Feature

“Summer of Soul” (Winner)
“Writing with Fire”

Best Adapted Screenplay

“CODA,” Sian Heder (Winner)
“Drive My Car,” Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe
“Dune,” Jon Spaihts and Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth
“The Lost Daughter,” Maggie Gyllenhaal
“The Power of the Dog,” Jane Campion

Best Original Screenplay

“Belfast,” Kenneth Branagh (Winner)
“Don’t Look Up,” Adam McKay, Story by McKay and David Sirota
“King Richard,” Zack Baylin
“Licorice Pizza,” Paul Thomas Anderson
“The Worst Person in the World,” Eskil Vogt and Joachim Trier

Best Costume Design

“Cruella” (Winner)
“Nightmare Alley”
“West Side Story”

Best International Feature Film

“Drive My Car” (Winner)
“The Hand of God”
“Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom”
“The Worst Person in the World”

Best Supporting Actor

Ciarán Hinds, “Belfast”
Troy Kotsur, “CODA” (Winner)
Jesse Plemons, “The Power of the Dog”
JK Simmons, “Being the Ricardos”
Kodi Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog”

Best Animated Feature

“Encanto” (Winner)
“The Mitchells vs. the Machines”
“Raya and the Last Dragon”

Best Visual Effects

“Dune” (Winner)
“Free Guy”
“No Time to Die”
“Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings”
“Spider-Man: No Way Home”

Best Cinematography

“Dune” (Winner)
“Nightmare Alley”
“The Power of the Dog”
“The Tragedy of Macbeth”
“West Side Story”

Best Supporting Actress

Jessie Buckley, “The Lost Daughter”
Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story” (Winner)
Judi Dench, “Belfast”
Kirsten Dunst, “The Power of the Dog”
Aunjanue Ellis, “King Richard”

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

“Coming 2 America”
“The Eyes of Tammy Faye” (Winner)
“House of Gucci”

Best Production Design

“Dune” (Winner)
“Nightmare Alley”
“The Power of the Dog”
“The Tragedy of Macbeth”
“West Side Story”

Best Editing

“Don’t Look Up”
“Dune” (Winner)
“King Richard”
“The Power of the Dog”
“Tick, Tick, Boom”

Best Original Score

“Don’t Look Up”
“Dune” (Winner)
“Parallel Mothers”
“The Power of the Dog”

Best Live Action Short

“Ala Kachuu – Take and Run”
“The Dress”
“The Long Goodbye” (Winner)
“On My Mind”
“Please Hold”

Best Animated Short

“Affairs of the Art”
“Robin Robin”
“The Windshield Wiper” (Winner)

Best Documentary Short Subject

“Lead Me Home”
“The Queen of Basketball” (Winner)
“Three Songs for Benazir”
“When We Were Bullies”

Best Sound

“Dune” (Winner)
“No Time to Die”
“The Power of the Dog”
“West Side Story”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox