×
Back to IndieWire

How to Buy Tickets for the 2023 Sundance Film Festival

Here's how to make sure you don't miss the first in-person Sundance since 2020.

PARK CITY, UTAH - JANUARY 22: A view of official signage around town as Park City prepares for the 2020 Sundance Film Festival on January 22, 2020 in Park City, Utah. (Photo by Dia Dipasupil/Getty Images)

Park City, Utah preparing for the 2020 Sundance Film Festival

Getty Images

The 2023 Sundance Film Festival will be the first fully in-person edition of the landmark festival since January 2020. While Sundance has thrived by offering virtual festivals for the past two years, many of the biggest names in the independent film community have had the official return to Park City circled on their calendars for months.

This year’s lineup is filled with potentially buzzy titles from filmmakers including Nicole Holofcener and Brandon Cronenberg. There are also plenty of opportunities for new faces to make a name for themselves, as a whopping 43 percent of the films come from first-time directors. For a more detailed rundown of the most exciting films playing at the festival, check out IndieWire’s new first-look gallery.

So how do you ensure you don’t miss out on any excitement? Buy your tickets now! Select ticket pages are still available online. Meanwhile, online and in-person tickets to individual films will be available to purchase on Thursday, January 12. Those sales begin at 9 a.m. PT / 10 a.m. MT / 11 a.m. CT / 12 p.m. ET. More details on that here.

If you can’t make it to Utah, 75 percent of this year’s films will also be available for online viewing. In a recent interview with IndieWire’s Eric Kohn, Sundance Institute CEO Joanna Vicente explained why virtual screenings are still a valuable part of the process, even in years when in-person events are possible.

“There has been a lot of learning from these past two years, and we had a lot of success from the virtual festival,” she said. “It was far from ideal, but films went on to win Oscars, and large audiences that could maybe not afford to come to Park City could see these films across the country. We are absolutely excited to come back in person and have that shared experience, but we also didn’t want to forget what enabled us to survive these few years and bring these films to more diverse, younger audiences who maybe couldn’t afford to come to the festival.”

The 2023 Sundance Film Festival will take place in Park City, Utah, January 19–29.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Film and tagged


Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox