114 Films Eligible for Best Original Score Oscar

114 Films Eligible for Best Original Score Oscar
114 Films Eligible Best Original Score Oscar

The Academy has unveiled its list of films eligible for the best original score Oscar. A whopping 114 original scores are in contention. See the full list below. AMPAS will narrow down to the final five when Oscar nominations are announced Thursday, January 16.

Today, the HFPA nominated “All Is Lost” (Alex Ebert), “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom” (Alex Heffes), “Gravity” (Steven Price), “The Book Thief” (John Williams) and “12 Years a Slave” (Hans Zimmer) for best original score Golden Globes.

Stephen Trask, composer
      “Ain’t Them Bodies Saints,” Daniel Hart,
      “All Is Lost,” Alex Ebert, composer
      “Alone Yet Not Alone,” William Ross,
      “The Armstrong Lie,” David Kahne, composer
      “Arthur Newman,” Nick Urata, composer
      “At Any Price,” Dickon Hinchliffe, composer
      “Austenland,” Ilan Eshkeri, composer
      “Before Midnight,” Graham Reynolds,
      “The Best Man Holiday,” Stanley Clarke,
      “The Book Thief,” John Williams, composer
      “The Butterfly’s Dream,” Rahman Altin,
      “The Call,” John Debney, composer
      “Captain Phillips,” Henry Jackman, composer
      “Closed Circuit,” Joby Talbot, composer
      “The Company You Keep,” Cliff Martinez,
      “The Conjuring,” Joseph Bishara, composer
      “Copperhead,” Laurent Eyquem, composer
      “The Counselor,” Daniel Pemberton, composer
      “The Croods,” Alan Silvestri, composer
      “Despicable Me 2,” Heitor Pereira, composer
      “Elysium,” Ryan Amon, composer
      “Ender’s Game,” Steve Jablonsky, composer
      “Enough Said,” Marcelo Zarvos, composer
      “Epic,” Danny Elfman, composer
      “Ernest & Celestine,” Vincent Courtois,
      “Escape from Planet Earth,” Aaron Zigman,
      “Escape from Tomorrow,” Abel Korzeniowski,
      “Evil Dead,” Roque Baños, composer
      “47 Ronin,” Ilan Eshkeri, composer
      “42,” Mark Isham, composer
      “Free Birds,” Dominic Lewis, composer
      “Free China: The Courage to Believe,” Tony
Chen, composer
      “Fruitvale Station,” Ludwig Goransson,
      “G.I. Joe: Retaliation,” Henry Jackman,
      “Gangster Squad,” Steve Jablonsky, composer
      “Gravity,” Steven Price, composer
      “The Great Gatsby,” Craig Armstrong,
      “The Hangover Part III,” Christophe Beck,
      “Hansel & Gretel Witch Hunters,” Atli
Örvarsson, composer
      “Haute Cuisine,” Gabriel Yared, composer
      “Her,” William Butler and Owen Pallett,
      “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug,”
Howard Shore, composer
      “Hollywood Seagull,” Evgeny Shchukin,
      “Hours,” Benjamin Wallfisch, composer
      “How Sweet It Is,” Matt Dahan, composer
      “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire,” James
Newton Howard, composer
      “Identity Thief,” Christopher Lennertz,
      “The Incredible Burt Wonderstone,” Lyle
Workman, composer
      “Insidious: Chapter 2,” Joseph Bishara,
      “Instructions Not Included,” Carlo
Siliotto, composer
      “The Internship,” Christophe Beck, composer
      “The Invisible Woman,” Ilan Eshkeri,
      “Iron Man 3,” Brian Tyler, composer
      “Jack the Giant Slayer,” John Ottman,
      “Jobs,” John Debney, composer
      “Kamasutra 3D,” Sreejith Edavana and
Saachin Raj Chelory, composers
      “Labor Day,” Rolfe Kent, composer
      “Lee Daniels’ The Butler,” Rodrigo Leão,
      “Live at the Foxes Den,” Jack Holmes,
      “Love Is All You Need,” Johan Söderqvist,
      “Mama,” Fernando Velázquez, composer
      “Man of Steel,” Hans Zimmer, composer
      “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom,” Alex
Heffes, composer
      “The Missing Picture,” Marc Marder,
      “Monsters University,” Randy Newman,
      “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones,”
Atli Örvarsson, composer
      “Mud,” David Wingo, composer
      “Murph: The Protector,” Chris Irwin and
Jeff Widenhofer, composers
      “Now You See Me,” Brian Tyler, composer
      “Oblivion,” Anthony Gonzalez and Joseph
Trapanese, composers
      “Oldboy,” Roque Baños, composer
      “Olympus Has Fallen,” Trevor Morris,
      “Oz The Great and Powerful,” Danny Elfman,
      “Pacific Rim,” Ramin Djawadi, composer
      “Pain & Gain,” Steve Jablonsky,
      “Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters,” Andrew
Lockington, composer
      “Philomena,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
      “The Place beyond the Pines,” Mike Patton,
      “Planes,” Mark Mancina, composer
      “Prisoners,” Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer
      “R.I.P.D.,” Christophe Beck, composer
      “Reaching for the Moon,” Marcelo Zarvos,
      “Romeo & Juliet,” Abel Korzeniowski,
      “Runner Runner,” Christophe Beck, composer
      “Rush,” Hans Zimmer, composer
      “Safe Haven,” Deborah Lurie, composer
      “Salinger,” Lorne Balfe, composer
      “Saving Mr. Banks,” Thomas Newman, composer
      “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty,” Theodore
Shapiro, composer
      “Short Term 12,” Joel P. West, composer
      “Side Effects,” Thomas Newman, composer
      “The Smurfs 2,” Heitor Pereira, composer
      “The Spectacular Now,” Rob Simonsen,
      “Star Trek Into Darkness,” Michael
Giacchino, composer
      “Stoker,” Clint Mansell, composer
      “Thor: The Dark World,” Brian Tyler,
      “Tim’s Vermeer,” Conrad Pope, composer
      “Trance,” Rick Smith, composer
      “Turbo,” Henry Jackman, composer
      “12 Years a Slave,” Hans Zimmer, composer
      “2 Guns,” Clinton Shorter, composer
      “The Ultimate Life,” Mark McKenzie,
      “Unfinished Song,” Laura Rossi, composer
      “Wadjda,” Max Richter, composer
      “Walking with Dinosaurs,” Paul
Leonard-Morgan, composer
      “Warm Bodies,” Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders,
      “We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks,”
Will Bates, composer
      “We’re the Millers,” Theodore Shapiro and
Ludwig Goransson, composers
      “What Maisie Knew,” Nick Urata, composer
      “Why We Ride,” Steven Gutheinz, composer
      “The Wind Rises,” Joe Hisaishi, composer
      “Winnie Mandela,” Laurent Eyquem, composer
      “The Wolverine,” Marco Beltrami, composer

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.