"Locker," "Fan" Lead Gotham Nods

Kathryn Bigelow’s “The Hurt Locker” and Robert Siegel’s “Big Fan” led the 19th Annual Gotham Independent Film Award nominations, each taking three nominations, and with “Locker”‘s Bigelow additionally receiving a Gothams’ tribute award. “Locker” and “Fan” join Joel and Ethan Coen’s “A Serious Man,” Sebastian Silva’s “The Maid,” and Cherien Dabis’s “Amreeka” in the competition for the year’s best feature, The complete list of nominees is below. The awards will take place Monday, November 30th at Cipriani Wall Street, and are considered the first major ceremony of the awards season.

The nominees are:

Best Feature

Cherien Dabis, director; Christina Piovesan, Paul Barkin, producers (National Geographic Entertainment)

Big Fan
Robert Siegel, director; Jean Kouremetis, Elan Bogarin, producers (First Independent Pictures)

The Hurt Locker
Kathryn Bigelow, director; Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier, Greg Shapiro, producers (Summit Entertainment)

The Maid
Sebastian Silva, director; Gregorio Gonzales, producer (Elephant Eye Films)

A Serious Man
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, directors/producers (Focus Features)

Best Documentary

Food, Inc.
Robert Kenner, director; Robert Kenner, Elise Pearlstein, producers (Magnolia Pictures)

Good Hair
Jeff Stilson, director; Chris Rock, Kevin O’Donnell, Nelson George Jenny Hunter, producers (Liddell Entertainment and Roadside Attractions in association with HBO Films)

My Neighbor My Killer
Anne Aghion, director/producer (Gacaca Productions)

Michael Almereyda, director; Michael Almereyda, Laurie Butler, producers (Post Factory Films)

James Toback, director; James Toback, Damon Bingham, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Ensemble Performance

Jesse Eisenberg, Kristen Stewart, Martin Starr, Kristen Wiig, Bill Hader, Ryan Reynolds (Miramax Films)

Cold Souls
Paul Giamatti, Dina Korzun, Emily Watson, Katheryn Winnick, David Strathairn (Samuel Goldwyn Films)

The Hurt Locker
Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty, Ralph Fiennes, Guy Pearce, David Morse, Evangeline Lilly (Summit Entertainment)

A Serious Man
Michael Stuhlbarg, Richard Kind, Fred Melamed (Focus Features)

Algenis Perez Soto, Rayniel Rufino, Michael Gaston, Andre Holland, Ann Whitney, Richard Bull, Ellary Porterfield, Jaime Tirelli (Sony Pictures Classics)

Breakthrough Director

Cruz Angeles for Don’t Let Me Drown
Frazer Bradshaw for Everything Strange and New
Noah Buschel for The Missing Person (Strand Releasing)
Derick Martini for Lymelife (Screen Media Films)
Robert Siegel for Big Fan (First Independent Pictures)

Breakthrough Actor

Ben Foster in The Messenger (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
Patton Oswalt in Big Fan (First Independent Pictures)
Jeremy Renner in The Hurt Locker (Summit Entertainment)
Catalina Saavedra in The Maid (Elephant Eye Films)
Soulemane Sy Savane in Goodbye Solo (Roadside Attractions)

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You

Everything Strange and New
Frazer Bradshaw, director; Laura Techera Francia, A.D. Liano, producers

Guy and Madeline on a Park Bench
Damien Chazelle, director; Jasmine McGlade, producer

October Country
Michael Palmieri and Donal Mosher, directors/producers

You Won’t Miss Me
Ry Russo-Young, director/producer

Zero Bridge
Tariq Tapa, director; Tariq Tapa, Josee Lajoie, Hilal Ahmed Langoo, producers

The nominating committees for the 19th Annual Gotham Independent Film Award announced above are as follows:

Nominating Committee for Best Feature and Best Ensemble Performance:
Rajendra Roy, The Celeste Bartos Chief Curator of Film, Museum of Modern Art; Lisa Schwarzbaum, Film Critic, Entertainment Weekly; Dana Stevens, Film Critic, Slate.com; Kenneth Turan, Film Critic, Los Angeles Times

Nominating Committee for Breakthrough Director and Breakthrough Actor:
Florence Almozini, Program Director, BAMCinematek; Justin Chang, Film Critic, Variety; Rob Nelson, Film Critic, Minnesota Post

Nominating Committee for Best Documentary:
Livia Bloom, Film Curator and editor of Errol Morris: Interviews (University of Mississippi Press); David Courier, Programmer, Sundance Film Festival; Tom Hall, Director of Programming, Sarasota Film Festival; Artistic Director, Newport International Film Festival; Writer, The Back Row Manifesto (http://blogs,indiewire.com/twhalliii/); Ronnie Scheib, Film Critic, Variety

Nominating Committee for Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You:
Joshua Siegel, Associate Curator, Department of Film and Media, Museum of Modern Art; and members of the editorial staff of Filmmaker Magazine: Scott Macaulay (Editor-in-Chief), Jason Guerrasio, Brandon Harris, Ray Pride, Alicia Van Couver

Get the latest from awards season anytime in indieWIRE’s special Awards Watch section.

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.