‘Marguerite,’ ‘My Golden Years’ Lead César Nominations, with ‘Dheepan’ and Oscar Contender ‘Mustang’ Close Behind

'Marguerite,' 'My Golden Years' Lead César Nominations, with 'Dheepan' and Oscar Contender 'Mustang' Close Behind
'Marguerite,' 'My Golden Years' Lead César Nominations, with 'Dheepan' and Oscar Contender 'Mustang' Close Behind

Arnaud Desplechin’s “My Golden Years” and Xavier Giannoli’s “Marguerite” (which will close this year’s Santa Barbara International Film Festival) beat out Jacques Audiard’s Palme d’Or winner, “Dheepan” (nine nominations) and Deniz Gamze Ergüven’s Oscar-nominated “Mustang” (nine).

Also competing for Best Film at the 41st César’s are Maïwenn’s “Mon Roi” (eight), starring Best Actress nominee Emmanuelle Bercot — whose own film, “Standing Tall,” also received 8 nominations, including Bercot for Best Director. Among the nominees for Best Foreign Film are last year’s Oscar winner for Best Picture, “Birdman,” Jafar Panahi’s “Taxi,” and Ergüven’s stiffest competitor in the race for the Best Foreign-Language Film Oscar, “Son of Saul.” 

Read the full list of nominees below. 

READ MORE: “How French Oscar Entry ‘Mustang’ Finds the ‘Orgasmic’ Joy of ‘Emotional Justice'”

Best Film:

“Dheepan,” produced by Pascal Caucheteux, Grégoire Sorlat,
directed by Jacques Audiard

“Fatima,” produced by Yasmina Nina-Faucon, Philippe Faucon,
directed by Philippe Faucon

“The Measure Of A Man,” produced by Christophe Rossignon,
Philip Boëffard, directed by Stéphane Brizé

“Marguerite,” produced by Olivier Delbosc, Marc Missonier,
directed by Xavier Giannoli

“Mon Roi,” produced by Yvain Attal, directed by Maïwenn

“Mustang,” produced by Charles Gillibert, directed by Deniz
Gamze Ergüven

“Standing Tall,” produced by François Kraus, Denis
Pineau-Valencienne, directed by Emmanuelle Bercot

“My Golden Years,” produced by Pascal Caucheteux, Grégoire
Sorlat, directed by Arnaud Desplechin

Best Director:

Jacques Audiard, “Dheepan”

Maïwenn, “Mon Roi”

Stéphane Brizé,”The Measure Of A Man”

Xavier Giannoli, “Marguerite”

Deniz Gamze Ergüven, “Mustang”

Emmanuelle Bercot, “Standing Tall”

Arnaud Desplechin, “Golden Years”

Best Actress:
Loubna Abidar, “Much Loved”

Emmanuelle Bercot, “Mon Roi”

Cécile de France, “Summertime”

Catherine Deneuve, “Standing Tall”

Catherine Frot, “Marguerite”

Isabelle Huppert, “Valley of Love”

Soria Zeroua, “Fatima”

Best Actor:

Jean-Pierre Bacri, “The Very Private Life of Mister Sim”

Vincent Cassel, “Mon Roi”

François Damiens, “The Cowboys”

Gérard Depardieu, “Valley Of Love”

Anthonythasan Jesuthasan, “Dheepan”

Vincent Lindon, “The Measure Of A Man”

Fabrice Luchini, “Courted”

Breakout Actress:
Camille Cotin, “Connasse, Princesse des coeurs”

Sara Giraudeau, “Les Bêtises”

Zita Hanrot, “Fatima”

Diane Rouxel, “Standing Tall”

Lou Roy Lecollinet, “My Golden Years”

Breakout Actor:

Swann Arlaud, “The Anarchists”

Quentin Dolmaire, “Golden Years”

Félix Moati, “All About Them”

Finnegan Oldfield, “The Cowboys”

Rod Paradot, “Standing Tall”

Best Supporting Actress:

Sara Forrester, “Standing Tall”

Agnès Jaoui, “The Sweet Escape”

Sidse Babett Knudsen, “Courted”

Noémie Lvovsky, “Summertime”

Karine Viard, “Families”

Best Supporting Actor:

Michel Fau, “Marguerite”

Louis Garrel, “Mon Roi”

Benoît Magimel, “Standing Tall”

André Marcon, “Marguerite”

Vincent Rottiers, “Dheepan”

Best First Film:

“L’affaire SK1,” Frédéric Tellier

“The Cowboys, ” Thomas Bidegain

“Mustang,” Deniz Gamze Ergüven

“The Wakhan Front,” Clément Cogitore

“All Three of Us,” Kheiron

Best Cinematography:

Eponine Monmenceau, “Dheepan”

Glynn Speeckaert, “Marguerite”

David Chizallet, “Mustang”

Irina Lubtchansky, “My Golden Years”

Christophe Offenstein, “Valley of Love”

Best Adapted Screenplay:

David Oelhoffen, Frédéric Tellier, “SK1”

Samuel Benchetrit, “Asphalte”

Vincent Garenq, Stéphane Cabrel, “The Clearstream Affair”

Philippe Faucon, “Fatima”

Hélène Zimmer, Benoit Jacquot, “Diary of a chambermaid”

Best Original Screenplay:

Noé Debré, Thomas Bidegain, Jacques Audiard, “Dheepan”

Xavier Giannoli, “Marguerite”

Deniz Gamze Ergüven, Alice Winocour, “Mustang”

Emmanuelle Bercot, Marcia Romano, “Standing Tall”

Arnaud Desplechin, Julie Peyr, “My Golden Years”

Best Costumes:

Anaïs Romand, “Diary of a Chambermaid”

Pierre-Jean Larroque, “Marguerite”

Selin Sözen, “Mustang”

Catherine Leterrier, “L’odeur de la Mandarine”

Nathalie Raoul, “My Golden Years”

Best Production Design:

Michel Barthélémy, “Dheepan”

Katia Wyszkop, “Diary of a Chambermaid”

Martin Kurel, “Marguerite”

Jean Rabasse, “L’Odeur de la Mandarine”

Toma Baqueni, “My Golden Years”

Best Editing:
Juliette Welfling, “Dheepan”

Cyril Nakache, “Marguerite”

Simon Jacquet, “Mon Roi”

Mathilde Van De Moortel, “Mustang”

Laurence Briaud, “My Golden Years”

Best Sound:

Daniel Sorbino, Valérie Deloof, Cyril Holtz, “Dheepan”

François Musy, Gabriel Hafner, “Marguerite”

Nicolas Provost, Agnès Ravez, Emmanuel Croset, “Mon Roi”

Ibrahim Gök, Damien Guillaume, Olivier Goinard, “Mustang”

Nicolas Cantin, Sylvain Malbrant, Stéphane Tiébaut, “My
Golden Years”

Best Music:

Raphaël for “The Cowboys”

Ennio Morricone for “Darling Buds of May”

Stephen Warbeck for “Mon Roi”

Warren Ellis for “Mustang”

Grégoire Hetzel for “My Golden Years”

Best Foreign Film:
“Birdman,” Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu

“Son of Saul,” Laszlo Nemes

“Mia Madre,” Nanni Moretti

“I’m Dead But I Have Friends,” Guillaume Malandrin, Stéphane

“Taxi Tehran,” Jafar Panahi

“The Brand New Testament,” Jaco Van Dormael]

“Youth,” Paolo Sorrentino

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.