‘Moonlight’ Sweeps Gay and Lesbian Critics Association’s Dorian Awards

"Moonlight" won Best Film and Best LGBTQ Film, while Barry Jenkins won Best Director and Best Screenplay. Mahershala Ali and Trevante Rhodes were also recognized.
'Moonlight' Sweeps Gay and Lesbian Critics Association's Dorian Awards

Barry Jenkins’ “Moonlight” took home six Dorian awards from the Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association, also known as GALECA. The evocative coming of age drama won Best Film of the Year, as well as LGBTQ Film of the Year. Jenkins won for Best Director and Best Screenplay, Mahershala Ali won for Best Actor, and Trevante Rhodes was recognized as Rising Star of the Year.

Viola Davis was recognized for her performance in “Fences,” and Park Chan-Wook’s “The Handmaiden” won Foreign-Language Film of the Year. “The Dressmaker” won Campy Film of the Year, and Antonio Campos’ “Christine” won Unsung Film of the Year.

READ MORE: Oscar Nominations Analysis: ‘La La Land’ Will Win Best Picture, Unless Voters Let ‘Moonlight’ Shine

On the television side, “The People Vs. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story” won big, as well as “Transparent.” ABC’s “The Real O’Neals” was recognized as Unsung TV Show of the Year, which stars out actor Noah Galvin in the lead role of Kenny O’Neal. Two out lesbian actresses were recognized: Sarah Paulson and Kate McKinnon.

Check out the complete list of GALECA 2016-17 Dorian Award winners below:

Film of the Year
Moonlight (A24)

Director of the Year (Film or Television)
Barry Jenkins, Moonlight (A24)

Film Performance of the Year – Actress
Viola Davis, Fences (Paramount)

Film Performance of the Year – Actor
Mahershala Ali, Moonlight (A24)

LGBTQ Film of the Year:
Moonlight (A24)

Foreign-Language Film of the Year
The Handmaiden (Amazon Studios)

Screenplay of the Year
Barry Jenkins, Moonlight (A24)

Documentary of the Year (theatrical release, TV airing or DVD release)
O.J.: Made in America (ESPN Films)

Visually Striking Film of the Year
La La Land (Lionsgate)

Unsung Film of the Year
Christine (The Orchard)

Campy Film of the Year
The Dressmaker (Broad Green/Amazon Studios)

TV Drama of the Year
The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story (FX)

TV Comedy of the Year
Transparent (Amazon)

TV Performance of the Year – Actor
Jeffrey Tambor, Transparent (Amazon)

TV Performance of the Year – Actress
Sarah Paulson, American Crime Story: The People v. O.J. Simpson (FX)

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year
Full Frontal With Samantha Bee (TBS)

TV Musical Performance of the Year
Kate McKinnon, “Hallelujah,” Saturday Night Live (NBC)

LGBTQ TV Show of the Year
Transparent (Amazon)

Unsung TV Show of the Year
The Real O’Neals (ABC)

Campy TV Show of the Year
RuPaul’s Drag Race All-Stars (Logo)

We’re Wilde About You! Rising Star of the Year
Trevante Rhodes

Wilde Wit of the Year (honoring a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse):
Carrie Fisher

Wilde Artist of the Year (honoring a truly groundbreaking force in the fields of film, theater and/or television) (tie)
Kate McKinnon
Lin-Manuel Miranda

Timeless Star (honoring an actor or performer whose exemplary career is marked by character, wisdom and wit)
John Waters

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.