Jonathan Majors, Jessica Chastain, Florence Pugh, and More to Present at the 95th Oscars

Andrew Garfield, Samuel L. Jackson, Dwayne Johnson, Michael B. Jordan, Troy Kotsur, Melissa McCarthy, and Janelle Monáe are some of the names also presenting at the 2023 Academy Awards.
Jonathan Majors, Ariana DeBose, Riz Ahmed
Jonathan Majors, Ariana DeBose, Riz Ahmed

With the 95th Oscars this weekend, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has continued to announce the lineup of presenters at this year’s Academy Awards.

Coming to the Dolby Theatre stage on Sunday, March 12, 2023, for a telecast that will air live on ABC and broadcast outlets worldwide at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, are some of last year’s winners including Best Supporting Actor Troy Kotsur (“CODA”), Best Actress Jessica Chastain (“The Eyes of Tammy Faye”), and Best Supporting Actress Ariana DeBose (“West Side Story”), fresh off her viral musical number at the 2023 BAFTA Awards. While the Academy does not announce which category each star is presenting, we can expect Kotsur, Chastain, and DeBose to present for the categories they won, as is tradition.

Last year’s Best Live Action Short winner Riz Ahmed (“The Long Goodbye”) and Best Documentary Feature winner Questlove (“Summer of Soul”) will also be presenting. Both filmmakers have already engineered some memorable 2023 award season moments, with Ahmed and co-presenter Allison Williams (“M3GAN”) impressively not stumbling on any names while announcing the Oscar nominees in January (sans his giggling as he said “My Year of Dicks”), and Questlove producing the amazing tribute to 50 years of Hip-Hop segment at this year’s Grammy Awards.

Last year’s Best Actor nominee Andrew Garfield, Best Actress nominee Florence Pugh, and Oscar winner Nicole Kidman are also presenting awards.

“Creed III” stars Michael B. Jordan and Jonathan Majors are both presenting at the Oscars this year, as are the stars of “Jungle Cruise” (2021), Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Emily Blunt. Again, there is no clarification in the Academy announcement that they will be paired together to present though. Some more of this year’s Oscar presenters like Glenn Close, Samuel L. Jackson, and Zoe Saldaña have likely crossed paths in the Marvel Cinematic Universe films they are in, so pairing them together to announce a category winner based on that loose shared history could be a random bit of fun.

Fitting the bill of actors who did not ultimately receive a nomination this year, but still agreed to present (think Lady Gaga) are “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery” star Janelle Monáe, “Avatar: The Way of Water” star Sigourney Weaver, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” actress Danai Gurira, and “Top Gun: Maverick” star Jennifer Connelly. “The Little Mermaid” actresses Melissa McCarthy and Halle Bailey, international icons Deepika Padukone and “John Wick: Chapter 4” star Donnie Yen, “Magic Mike’s Last Dance” actress Salma Hayek Pinault, “Cocaine Bear” director Elizabeth Banks, Antonio Banderas, John Cho, and Hugh Grant are also presenting.

This year’s Academy Awards will be executive produced and run by Glenn Weiss and Ricky Kirshner. With Jimmy Kimmel as host, his head writer Molly McNearney (who also happens to be his spouse) will also serve as an executive producer on the show. The producers will all continue to announce more talent joining the show up to when the 95th Oscars finally happen on Sunday, March 12.

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.