‘The Shape of Water’ Wins Oscar for Best Score, Making Alexandre Desplat A Two-Time Winner

Desplat previously won for scoring Wes Anderson's "The Grand Budapest Hotel."
'The Shape of Water' Wins Oscar for Best Score
"The Shape of Water"

The Shape of Water” has won the Oscar for Best Original Score, bringing composer Alexandre Desplat his second trophy. Desplat previously won in 2015 for scoring Wes Anderson’s “The Shape of Water.” The score won over fellow nominees “Star Wars: The Last Jedi” (John Williams), “Dunkirk” (Hans Zimmer), “Phantom Thread” (Jonny Greenwood), and “Three Billboards” (Cartuer Burwell).

Desplat has been nominated for Best Original Score nine times throughout his career. He received his first Oscar nomination in 2007 for “The Queen” and was last nominated before “The Shape of Water” for both “The Imitation Game” and “Grand Budapest” in 2015. Desplat’s work on “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” “Fantastic Mr. Fox,” “The King’s Speech,” and “Argo” has also earned Oscar nominations.

Best Original Score is one of 13 Oscar nominations Guillermo del Toro’s fantasy romance received this year. The film is also nominated for major awards such as Best Director and Best Picture.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.