Back to IndieWire

2022 Emmy Nominations: See the Full List

"Succession," "Squid Game," and "Abbott Elementary" all scored multiple nominations going into tonight's ceremony.

Side-by-side images of a man in a tan suit from "The White Lotus," A woman in an orange cardigan wearing an ID on a lanyard from "Abbott Elementary," and a woman in a green tracksuit with the number 067 on it from "Squid Game."

“The White Lotus,” “Abbott Elementary,” and “Squid Game.”

HBO / ABC / Netflix

The season of campaigning leading up to the 74th Annual Emmy Awards might not have been full of as many shocks and twists as so many nominated shows, but this crop of top television talent is one for the books. Ahead of the Emmy Awards ceremony tonight, the race for major categories could yield anything from an old favorite sweeping the board or a debut juggernaut dethroning the reigning champs.

Most of the Creative Arts Emmys went to new or recent shows, which could indicate the tide of Monday’s broadcast, where giants like “Succession” go head-to-head with breakouts like “Squid Game.” HBO won big at the Creative Arts Emmys on September 3 and 4, which bodes well for comedy favorite “Barry” — nominated after a nearly three-year hiatus — and Limited Series “The White Lotus.” Apple’s “Severance,” also known as IndieWire’s pick for the best TV show of 2022 so far, took home awards for Theodore Shapiro’s musical score and Oliver Latta’s title sequence, two of the most talked about production pieces of Dan Erickson’s hit drama.

The Primetime Emmy Awards ceremony will also mark the return of Television Academy favorites like “Succession” and “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” now squaring up against formidable new contenders beloved by audiences and critics alike. Win or lose, the teams behind these shows will fare a lot better than anyone on “Squid Game.”

The full list of 2022 Emmy nominees is below:

Outstanding Variety Talk Series
“The Daily Show With Trevor Noah” (Comedy Central)
“Jimmy Kimmel Live!” (ABC)
“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” (HBO)
“Late Night With Seth Meyers” (NBC)
“The Late Show With Stephen Colbert” (CBS)

Outstanding Competition Program
“The Amazing Race” (CBS)
“Lizzo’s Watch Out for the Big Grrrls” (Amazon Prime Video)
“Nailed It!” (Netflix)
“RuPaul’s Drag Race” (VH1)
“Top Chef” (Bravo)
“The Voice” (NBC)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series
Alex Borstein, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
Hannah Einbinder, “Hacks” (HBO Max)
Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
Sarah Niles, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Juno Temple, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series
Anthony Carrigan, “Barry” (HBO)
Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Toheeb Jimoh, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Nick Mohammed, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Tony Shalhoub, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
Tyler James Williams, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Henry Winkler, “Barry” (HBO)
Bowen Yang, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series
Rachel Brosnahan, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
Quinta Brunson, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Kaley Cuoco, “The Flight Attendant” (HBO Max)
Elle Fanning, “The Great” (Hulu)
Issa Rae, “Insecure” (HBO)
Jean Smart, “Hacks” (HBO Max)

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Donald Glover, “Atlanta” (FX)
Bill Hader, “Barry” (HBO)
Nicholas Hoult, “The Great”
Steve Martin, “Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)
Martin Short, “Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)
Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Comedy Series
“Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
“Barry” (HBO)
“Hacks” (HBO Max)
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
“Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)
“Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
“What We Do in the Shadows” (FX)

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie
Murray Bartlett, “The White Lotus” (HBO)
Jake Lacy, “The White Lotus” (HBO)
Will Poulter, “Dopesick” (Hulu)
Seth Rogen, “Pam and Tommy” (Hulu)
Peter Sarsgaard, “Dopesick” (Hulu)
Michael Stuhlbarg, “Dopesick” (Hulu)
Steve Zahn, “The White Lotus” (HBO)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie
Connie Britton, “The White Lotus” (HBO)
Jennifer Coolidge, “The White Lotus” (HBO)
Alexandra Daddario, “The White Lotus (HBO)
Kaitlyn Dever, “Dopesick” (Hulu)
Natasha Rothwell, “The White Lotus” (HBO)
Sydney Sweeney, “The White Lotus” (HBO)
Mare Winningham, “Dopesick” (Hulu)

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie
Colin Firth, “The Staircase” (HBO Max)
Andrew Garfield, “Under The Banner of Heaven” (FX)
Oscar Isaac, “Scenes From a Marriage” (HBO)
Michael Keaton, “Dopesick” (Hulu)
Himesh Patel, “Station Eleven” (HBO Max)
Sebastian Stan, “Pam & Tommy” (Hulu)

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie
Toni Collette, “The Staircase” (HBO Max)
Julia Garner, “Inventing Anna” (Netflix)
Lily James, “Pam and Tommy” (Hulu)
Sarah Paulson, “American Crime Story: Impeachment” (FX)
Margaret Qualley, “Maid” (Netflix)
Amanda Seyfried, “The Dropout” (Hulu)

Outstanding Limited or Anthology Series
“Dopesick” (Hulu)
“The Dropout” (Hulu)
“Inventing Anna” (Netflix)
“Pam and Tommy” (Hulu)
“The White Lotus” (HBO)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Patricia Arquette, “Severance” (Apple TV+)
Julia Garner, “Ozark” (Netflix)
Jung Ho-yeon, “Squid Game” (Netflix)
Christina Ricci, “Yellowjackets” (Showtime)
Rhea Seehorn, “Better Call Saul” (AMC)
J. Smith-Cameron, “Succession” (HBO)
Sarah Snook, “Succession” (HBO)
Sydney Sweeney, “Euphoria” (HBO)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Nicholas Braun, “Succession” (HBO)
Billy Crudup, “The Morning Show” (Apple TV+)
Kieran Culkin, “Succession” (HBO)
Park Hae-soo, “Squid Game” (Netflix)
Matthew Macfadyen, “Succession” (HBO)
John Turturro, “Severance” (Apple TV+)
Christopher Walken, “Severance” (Apple TV+)
Oh Yeong-soo, “Squid Game” (Netflix)

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Jodie Comer, “Killing Eve” (BBC America)
Laura Linney, “Ozark” (Netflix)
Melanie Lynskey, “Yellowjackets” (Showtime)
Sandra Oh, “Killing Eve” (AMC)
Reese Witherspoon, “The Morning Show” (Apple TV+)
Zendaya, “Euphoria” (HBO)

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Jason Bateman, “Ozark” (Netflix)
Brian Cox, “Succession” (HBO)
Lee Jung-jae, “Squid Game” (Netflix)
Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul” (AMC)
Adam Scott, “Severance” (Apple TV+)
Jeremy Strong, “Succession” (HBO)

Outstanding Drama Series
“Better Call Saul” (AMC)
“Euphoria” (HBO)
“Ozark” (Netflix)
“Severance” (Apple TV+)
“Squid Game” (Netflix)
“Stranger Things” (Netflix)
“Succession” (HBO)
“Yellowjackets” (Showtime)

Final-round voting for the Emmys will begin on August 12, 2022 and continue through 10 p.m. PT on August 22. The 74th Primetime Emmy Awards will air Monday, September 12, 2022 on NBC and Peacock.]

The full list of 2022 Emmy nominations can be found here.

To keep updated with IndieWire’s coverage throughout Phase 2 of Emmy season, click here to sign up for our awards season and TV e-mail newsletters, as well as breaking news alerts.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox