Attention, Filmmakers: Make a Movie on Your Phone for the Original iPhone Film Festival

Attention, Filmmakers: Make a Movie on Your Phone for the Original iPhone Film Festival
Attention, Filmmakers: Make Movie on Your Phone the Original iPhone Film Festival

Stop taking that selfie and get down down to business. The Original iPhone Film Festival has just announced it’s accepting submissions for their 2014 event. Submissions are free and entries will be accepted until November 30th, so really, you have no excuse not to shoot a film.

READ MORE: Apply to The Future of Storytelling Competition for Web-Based Films, Narrative Games & More

The festival is specifically seeking short films in the categories of Fiction, Non-Fiction, Music Video and the new Student Directors/Under 18. Films can run up to five minutes and obviously must be filmed on an Apple iOS device. The entry judges are industry experts from entertainment, tech and advertising and include Yahoo Tech’s David Pogue, director Marcus Nispel, BAFTA NY’s Christina Thomas, director Noam Murro, Molly Thompson of A+E Indiefilms, Macworld’s Jason Snell, Jason Kliot of HBO and documentary filmmakers Jon Alpert & Matthew O’Neill.

“We’re thrilled and honored to be at the center of this community and very excited about this year’s festival,” said OIFF co-founder Matthew Dessner in a press release. “We also look forward to meeting iPhone filmmakers at our upcoming speaking engagements and appearances.” Festival co-founder Corey Rogers added, “So much has changed in the last few years since we started the OIFF. Everything has gotten better and better from the devices themselves to the accessories, apps and gear. The filmmakers are getting more comfortable as well. It’s been pretty amazing to see.”

For complete submission rules and more information check out their website. Also, you can watch past winners’ films here.

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.