2017 Independent Spirit Award Nominations: ‘Moonlight,’ ‘American Honey’ and ‘Jackie’ Lead the Way

Jenny Slate and Edgar Ramírez announced the nominees this morning.
2017 Independent Spirit Award Nominations:

Jenny Slate and Edgar Ramírez announced the 2017 Independent Spirit Award nominations live from the W Hollywood this morning, with “American Honey,” “Jackie,” “Manchester by the Sea” and “Moonlight” all doing especially well for themselves — each film was nominated for Best Feature, Director and several other awards. The ceremony itself will air on IFC on February 25. Here’s the full list of nominees:

READ MORE: Here’s How the Independent Spirit Awards Will Impact the Oscar Race: Analysis

Best Feature:

“American Honey”
“Manchester by the Sea”

Best Director:

Andrea Arnold, “American Honey”
Barry Jenkins, “Moonlight”
Pablo Larraín, “Jackie”
Jeff Nichols, “Loving”
Kelly Reichardt, “Certain Women”

The Childhood of a Leader
“The Childhood of a Leader”IFC Films

Best First Feature:

“The Childhood of a Leader”
“The Fits”
“Other People”
“Swiss Army Man”
“The Witch”

Best Female Lead:

Annette Bening, “20th Century Women”
Isabelle Huppert, “Elle”
Sasha Lane, “American Honey”
Ruth Negga, “Loving”
Natalie Portman, “Jackie”

Best Male Lead:

Casey Affleck, “Manchester by the Sea”
David Harewood, “Free In Deed”
Viggo Mortensen, “Captain Fantastic”
Jesse Plemons, “Other People”
Tim Roth, “Chronic”

"Certain Women"
Lily Gladstone as Jaime in “Certain Women”IFC Films

Best Supporting Female:

Edwina Findley, “Free In Deed”
Paulina García, “Little Men”
Lily Gladstone, “Certain Women”
Riley Keough, “American Honey”
Molly Shannon, “Other People”

Best Supporting Male:

Ralph Fiennes, “A Bigger Splash”
Ben Foster, “Hell or High Water”
Lucas Hedges, “Manchester by the Sea”
Shia LaBeouf, “American Honey”
Craig Robinson, “Morris from America”

Best Screenplay:

Barry Jenkins, “Moonlight” (story by Tarell Alvin McCraney)
Kenneth Lonergan, “Manchester by the Sea”
Mike Mills, “20th Century Women”
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias, “Little Men”
Taylor Sheridan, “Hell or High Water”

Anya Taylor-Joy in "The Witch"
Anya Taylor-Joy in “The Witch”

Best First Screenplay:

Robert Eggers, “The Witch”
Chris Kelly, “Other People”
Adam Mansbach, “Barry”
Stella Meghie, “Jean of the Joneses”
Craig Shilowich, “Christine”

Best Cinematography:

Ava Berkofsky, “Free In Deed”
Lol Crawley, “The Childhood of a Leader”
Zach Kuperstein, “The Eyes of My Mother”
James Laxton, “Moonlight”
Robbie Ryan, “American Honey”

Best Editing:

Matthew Hannam, “Swiss Army Man”
Jennifer Lame, “Manchester by the Sea”
Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders, “Moonlight”
Jake Roberts, “Hell or High Water”
Sebastián Sepúlveda, “Jackie”

"Spa Night" came out of the Film Independent Screenwriting Lab
“Spa Night” came out of the Film Independent Screenwriting Lab

John Cassavetes Award:

“Free In Deed”
“Hunter Gatherer”
“Spa Night”

Robert Altman Award:

“American Honey”
“Moonlight” (winner)
“Morris from America”

Best Documentary:

“I Am Not Your Negro”
“O.J.: Made in America”
“Under the Sun”

“Toni Erdmann”

Best International Film:

“Aquarius” (Brazil)
“Chevalier” (Greece)
“My Golden Days” (France)
“Toni Erdmann” (Germany and Romania)
“Under the Shadow” (Iran and U.K.)

Piaget Producers Award:

Lisa Kjerulff
Jordana Mollick
Melody C. Roscher & Craig Shilowich

23rd Annual Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award:

Andrew Ahn, “Spa Night”
Claire Carré, “Embers”
Anna Rose Holmer, “The Fits”
Ingrid Jungermann, “Women Who Kill”

22nd Truer Than Fiction Award:

Kristi Jacobson, “Solitary”
Sara Jordenö, “Kiki”
Nanfu Wang, “Hooligan Sparrow”

Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.