‘Shameless’ Aims for Emmy Gold by Switching Consideration from Drama to Comedy

'Shameless' Aims for Emmy Gold by Switching Consideration from Drama to Comedy
'Shameless' Aims Emmy Gold Switching Consideration from Drama Comedy

After three seasons without an Emmy nomination for Best Drama, Showtime’s William H. Macy-starring “Shameless” has decided not to compete anymore — as a drama. Showrunner and executive producer John Wells has decided his program has a better shot at garnering a nomination as a comedy and will thus submit the show in that category. 

It doesn’t sound like a bad bet. This year’s Best Drama category will be as tight as ever, with perennial favorites “Mad Men,” “Homeland,” and “Downton Abbey” all in the mix as well as the last season of “Breaking Bad” and new sensation “House of Cards.” “The Newsroom” — which took home Best Actor for star Jeff Daniels last year — will also be competing, as will “Game of Thrones,” “Boardwalk Empire,” “The Good Wife,” and “Masters of Sex.” That’s a lot of competition.

In the comedy category, “Shameless” will be going up against reigning champion “Modern Family” as well as “Veep,” “Parks and Recreation,” “The Big Bang Theory,” “Louie,” and “Girls.” It will also square off against fellow Showtime programming like “Episodes,” though that has had more success at the Golden Globes.  

So far, “Shameless” has only received Emmy nominations in the Guest Star category. Joan Allen has been nominated three consecutive years, but Wells and the folks at Showtime may be aiming higher this year. Emmy Rossum has received more praise than usual for her portrayal of Fiona Gallagher, though she’ll face tough competition in the comedy actress category from Amy Poehler (“Parks and Rec”), Lena Dunham (“Girls”), and last year’s winner, Julia Louis-Drefus (“VEEP”). 

We’ll find out if the move pays off when nominations arrive on July 10th.

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.