“A Quiet Little Marriage” Takes Top Slamdance Prize

"A Quiet Little Marriage" Takes Top Slamdance Prize

Mo Perkins’ “A Quiet Little Marriage” won the Grand Jury Award for Best Narrative Feature Friday night in Park City at the Slamdance Film Festival, capping the event’s 15th edition. Sixteen film and screenplay prize winners in four categories will share $100,000 in cash and prizes.

Selections from the Grand Jury and Audience Award winning films will be screened at the IFC Center in New York City and the DGA in Los Angeles. Feature competition is limited to first-time filmmakers working with production budgets of $1 million or less.

“As ever, if you wanted to see the best in truly independent film and emerging talent,” commented Peter Baxter, co-founder and president of Slamdance in a statement. “Slamdance No. 15 was the place to be. Congratulations to all of our winners and especially to all of our filmmakers who continue to strengthen our community…our family.”

The winners of the 15th Slamdance Film Festival are:

Grand Jury Awards
Grand Jury Award for Best Narrative Feature
Winner: “A Quiet Little Marriage,” directed by Mo Perkins

Special Jury Mention for Best Performance: Larry Fessenden in “I Sell the Dead”

Grand Jury Award for Best Documentary Feature
Winner: “Strongman,” directed by Zachary Levy

Special Jury Mention: “Second Sight,” directed by Alison McAlpine

Grand Jury Award for Best Animated Short
Winner: “Undone,” directed by Hayley Morris

Grand Jury Award for Best Documentary Short
Winner: “Rare Chicken Rescue,” directed by Randall Wood

Grand Jury Award for Best Experimental Short
Winner: “Funny Guy,” directed by Frank R. Rinaldi

Grand Jury Award for Best Narrative Short
Winner: “Princess Margaret Blvd,” directed by Kazik Radwanski
Special Jury Mention: “Tony Zoreil,” directed by Valentin Potier

Grand Jury Award for Best Music Video
Winner: Don McCloskey “Mister Novocaine,” directed by Peter Rhoads

Audience Awards

Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature
Winner: “Punching the Clown,” directed by Gregory Viens

Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature
Winner: “Heart of Stone” (formerly It’s Hard to be an Indian), directed by Beth Toni Kruvant

Audience Award for Best Anarchy Film
Winner: “The Tides,” directed by Eva Flodstrom

Spirit of Slamdance Award
Winners (tie): “Zombie Girl,” directed by Aaron Marshall, Erik Mauck, Justin Johnson; and “Vapid Lovelies,” directed by Frank Feldman
Awarded by the Class of 2009 filmmakers to the film teams that best exhibit passion and talent, commitment to the independent community, and enthusiastically embrace all Slamdance has to offer.

Special Awards

Kodak Vision Award for Best Cinematography
Winner: “I Sell the Dead” cinematographer Richard Lopez

Dos Equis “Most Interesting Film” Award
Winner: “You Might as Well Live,” directed by Simon Ennis

IndieRoad Award
Winner: “Punching the Clown,” directed by Gregory Viens
The online audience award voted on by IndieRoad.net viewers.

Writer Awards

Award for Best Screenplay
Winner: “Numbered,” (Comedy/Thriller) by Neil McGowan

Award for Best Short Screenplay
Winner: “Crybaby,” (Thriller) by Mark Seidel

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.