Listen: RZA’s “Blowin’ In The Wind” For ‘Iron Fists’ & Judith Hill’s “Desperation” From ‘Red Hook Summer’

Listen: RZA's "Blowin' In The Wind" For 'Iron Fists' & Judith Hill's "Desperation" From 'Red Hook Summer'
Listen: RZA's "Blowin' The Wind" 'Iron Fists' & Judith Hill's "Desperation" From 'Red Hook Summer'

Despite all the blockbuster movies this summer, it seems we really haven’t had a great soundtrack to go with them. “The Avengersmelange of alt-rock fodder was a bit embarrassing, and the great selection of songs from “Take This Waltz” do not have an official release just yet. But a couple of movies are just around the corner, that should please both the eyes and ears at the same time.

First up, RZA hits theaters this fall with directorial debut, “The Man with the Iron Fists,” and the Wu-Tang Clan member isn’t misssing an opportunity to contribute some new music as well. The first tune from the movie, “Blowin’ In The Wind,” has dropped and no, it’s not a Bob Dylan cover. But it is a track firmly in the RZA wheelhouse, with a foreboding vibe (that almost throws as far back to the Gravediggaz) that includes swampy beats, mournful horns, slinky synths and the rapper’s unmistakable delivery. It’s not bad at all, but just the tip of the iceberg for the martial arts film that will also include new tunes from The Black Keys, Kanye West, My Chemical Romance, Wiz Khalifa and Wu-Tang Clan.

But before that movie arrives, Spike Lee‘s “Red Hook Summer” rolls into theaters next month, and along with it is not only a score by Bruce Hornsby, but a batch of new tunes by Judith Hill. The rising singer was set to join Michael Jackson on his “This Is It” tour before his untimely death, but gained worldwide attention with her cover of “Heal The World” at his service. She has since released a tribute album to Jackson (with proceeds going to charity), and her next exposure is coming with this film, which she has contributed ten songs toward. The first single is “Desperation” and despite the title, it’s a funky, upbeat little number that’s worth a spin.

“The Man with the Iron Fists” opens on November 2nd and soundtrack details are still forthcoming. “Red Hook Summer” rolls on August 10th and both Hill’s soundtrack and Bruce Hornsby’s score go on sale digitally on July 31st.

“Red Hook Summer” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. Love Today
2. Day or Night
3. Colour of the Wind
4. Faraway
5. Till the End
6. Beautiful Life
7. Desperation
8. Walking
9. There Ain’t No Turning Back
10. My People

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.