Oscar Contender ‘Brooklyn’ Wins Top Honor at 38th Denver Film Festival

Oscar Contender 'Brooklyn' Wins Top Honor at 38th Denver Film Festival
Oscar Contender 'Brooklyn' Wins Top Honor 38th Denver Film Festival

READ MORE: Denver Film Festival Announces Full Schedule, Including ‘Anomalisa’ and ‘Son of Saul’

The 38th Denver Film Festival has unveiled its juried and audience award winners for this year’s festival. The festival featured over 250 films, representing 39 countries and 17 titles from local Colorado productions. According to organizers, this year also attracted over 55,000 filmgoers during the 12-day celebration. Here are all the honorees listed below: 

People’s Choice Award Winners

Narrative Feature: “Brooklyn” Dir. John Crowley

Documentary Feature: “The Champions” Dir. Darcy Dennett

Short Film: “The House is Innocent” Dir. Nicolas Coles

Music Video: “Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats ‘S.O.B.'” Dir. Greg Barnes

Juried Award Winners

The Maysles Brothers Award for Best Documentary Film: “Hitchcock/Truffaut” Dir. Kent Jones

The Krzysztof Kieślowski Award for Best Feature Film: “Rams” Dir. Grímur Hákonarson 

Special Jury Prize: “Lamb” Dir. Yared Zaleke 

Special Ensemble Acting Jury Award: “The Measure of a Man”

The American Independent Narrative Award: “Krisha” Dir. Trey Edward Shults

Special Jury Prize, Filmmaker to Watch: “H.” Dir. Rania Attieh and Daniel Garcia 

The Liberty Global International Student Short Award: “Disintegration” Dir. Álvaro Martín 

Special Jury Prize for Outstanding Directing: “The Fantastic Love of Beeboy and Flowergirl” Dir. Clemens Roth 

The Spike Lee Student Filmmaker Award: “Oasis” Dir. Sara Lafleur-Vetter 

Feature Screenplay Award: “Memory,” written by John Benge

Short Screenplay Award: “Symposium,” written by Tom Grady 

Denver Film Festival Award Winners

John Cassavetes Award: John Turturro
Maria & Tommaso Maglione Italian Filmmaker Award: Nanni Moretti
Reel Social Club Indie Spirit Award: Benjamin Dickinson 
Rising Star Award : Alex Wolff 
Stan Brakhage Vision Award: Nathaniel Dorsky
True Grit Award: Joseph Wartnerchaney

READ MORE: Denver Film Festival Announces First Wave of Programming, Including ‘Sworn Virgin’ and ‘India’s Daughter’

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.