Palm Springs Shortfest Announces Winners, Along with $128,000 in Awards

Palm Springs Shortfest Announces Winners, Along with $128,000 in Awards

The Palm Springs Shortfest is just wrapping up today, but their awards were announced this weekend. The festival, which is an official qualifier for the Academy Award shorts categories, announced winners in 18 categories.

Commenting on the festival’s record-breaking attendance this year, Festival Director Darryl Macdonald said, “It’s been a remarkable year for ShortFest, with record attendance and a rapturous response to the programming by audiences, industry and filmmakers alike. The Film Market and industry programs were particulary active, adding hugely to the Festival’s success. I’m confident a number of major future filmmakers emerged here this year and will go on to enliven the feature film world.”

A full list of the winners is below.

Jury Awards

Best of Festival Award ($2,000 cash and Software Package courtesy of The Showbiz Café & Store; Ultimate Stock Footage Collection courtesy of FootageFilm; Post Production award courtesy of Greenhouse Studios; and Final Cut Pro courtesy of Apple. The winner of this award is eligible to submit their film to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Oscar consideration.)

“Bahiya & Mahmoud” (Jordan/USA), Zaid Abu Hamdan

Panavision Grand Jury Award (Panavision Camera Package valued at $60,000.)

“Umoja: No Men Allowed” (Australia), Elizabeth Tadic

Future Filmmaker Award ($2,000 cash and Pipeline Filmmaker prize courtesy of Film Source LA, Smart Post Sound, Rushes and The Pipeline.)

Mitsuyo Miyazaki, “Tsuyako” (Japan/USA)

Jury Special Citation – Excellence in Storytelling

“Nullarbor”(Australia), co-director and writer Patrick Sarell and co-director Alistair Lockhart.

Audience Awards

Audience Favorite Live Action Short

“dik” (Australia), Christopher Stollery
Runner-up – “Tsuyako” (Japan/USA), Mitsuyo Miyazaki

Audience Favorite Documentary Short

“Johnny & Lyman: A Life Together” (USA), Paul Detwiler, Michael Chen
Runner-up – The Unforgettable Hampton Family (USA), Julie Cohen

Audience Favorite Animation Short

“The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore” (USA), William Joyce, Brandon Oldenburg
Runner-up – Danny & Annie (USA), Dave Isay, Tim Rauch

Shortfest Online Audience Award

“Stephany + Me” (USA), Peter Shanel

Jury Category Awards

Best Live Action Short 15 Minutes and Under

First Place ($2,000) – “Cat and Mice” (Kattenkwaad) (Netherlands), Nova Van Dijk
Second Place ($500) – “Nowhere Elsewhere” (Au Milieu de Nulle Part Ailleurs) (Canada), Annick Blanc

Jury Special Citation for Best Onscreen Pairing

“Pass the Salt, Please” (USA)

Best Live Action Short Over 15 Minutes

First Place ($2,000) – The Hours’ Home (A Casa das Horas) (Brazil), Heraldo Cavalcanti
Second Place ($500) – The Shore (UK), Terry George

Best Animation Short

First Place ($2,000) – “The Lost Town of Switez” (Poland/Canada), Kamil Polak
Second Place ($500) – “Interregnum” (Canada), Nick Fox-Gieg

Jury Special Citation for Best Sound Design
“The Cord-Woman” (La Femme Á Cordes) (France)

Best Documentary Short

First Place ($2,000) – “75 Watts” (Canada), John Cullen
Second Place ($500) – “Collaboration Horizontale” (Ireland), Ciaran Cassidy

Student Categories

Best Student Live Action Short 15 Minutes and Under

First Place – “The Promised Land” (Israel), Vanessa Knutsen
Second Place – “Kiss” (Australia), Alex Murawski

Best Student Live Action Short Over 15 Minutes

First Place – “Bekas” (Sweden/Iraq), Karzan Kader
Second Place – “Negative” (Israel), Yoav Hornung

Best Student Animation

First Place – “The Birds Upstairs” (USA), Christopher Cinq-Mars Jarvis
Second Place – “Heavy Heads” (Denmark), Helena Frank

Best Student Documentary Short

First Place – “Goodbye Mandima” (Kwa Heri Mandima) (Switzerland), Robert-Jan Lacombe
Second Place – “Wajeh” (Israel/Palestinian Territories), Murad Nassar

Best Student Cinematography

Taj Musco (cinematographer), “Eh Jeung” (South Korea)

Alexis Award for Best Emerging Student Filmmaker (The recipient will receive Final Cut Pro courtesy of Apple.)

Taj Musco, “Eh Jeung” (South Korea)

Bridging the Borders Award (The winner will receive a HP professional mobile workstation, EliteBook 8760w; prize and promotional support provided by HP. The runnerup will receive Adobe Premiere Pro CS 5.5.)

Winner: “Bekas” (Sweden/Iraq), Karzan Kader
Runner-up: “The Promised Land” (Israel), Vanessa Knutsen

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.