Soundtrack For Martin Scorsese’s HBO Series ‘Vinyl’ Includes Otis Redding, The Meters, Edgar Winter, Foghat, More

Soundtrack For Martin Scorsese's HBO Series 'Vinyl' Includes Otis Redding, The Meters, Edgar Winter, Foghat, More
Soundtrack Martin Scorsese's HBO Series 'Vinyl' Includes Otis Redding, The Meters, Edgar Winter, Foghat, More

2016 is the year of the music-driven TV series. Cameron Crowe will go behind the scenes with “Roadies,” Baz Luhrmann hits the clubs with the ’70s-set “The Get Down,” and also taking place in the same era and scene is Martin Scorsese‘s “Vinyl.” It arrives on HBO next month, and as you might expect, it’ll have a lot of music from the period for viewers to dive into.

Volume 1 of the soundtrack is stuffed with soul, blues and rock’n roll, with tracks by Otis Redding, The Meters, Edgar Winter, Foghat, Ruth Brown, and more. It also feature original music by the critically acclaimed country singer-songwriter Sturgill Simpson (who provides the show’s theme song “Sugar Daddy”) and The Nasty Bits, a group fronted by Mick Jagger‘s son James Jagger, who also appears on the show. Meanwhile, David Johansen has re-recorded some jams by New York Dolls. Beyond that, HBO will release a digital EP featuring songs from and inspired by each upcoming Sunday episode the preceding Friday, with Julian Casablancas, Iggy Pop, Charli XCX, the Arcs, Chris Cornell, Trey Songz, Jessie J, Nate Ruess, Royal Blood, Jess Glynne, DJ Cassidy, Alex Newell and Charlie Wilson all set to contribute music.

READ MORE: The 25 Most Anticipated TV Shows Of 2016

So there’s surely a helluva music budget in place for the show, but what songs does Scorsese personally like? Well, he shared some of his faves with EW

“I own so much vinyl,” Scorsese said. “78s that I collected and that my uncle had, and 45s and LPs. I think I probably have some very rare 45s that I bought when I was young. A lot of doo-wop —songs like ‘Ling Ting Tong’ by The [Five] Keys, ‘Gloria’ by Vito and the Salutations, ‘Could This Be Magic’ by the Dubs, ‘Deserie’ by The Charts, ‘Ship of Love’ by the Nutmegs and so many others. I’ve used a lot of them in my movies. And I love the sound of those 45s. Every scratch. I also have a very special record. Eric Clapton sent it to me. ‘I found this in my closet and I thought you might like to have it,’ he said. It was the gold record for [Cream‘s] ‘Sunshine of Your Love,’ framed. I’m not sure if that counts —it’s gold, so can it be vinyl?— and I can’t play it, but I certainly treasure it.” 

“Vinyl: Volume 1” will drop on February 12th, two days before the show’s premiere on February 14th. And if you like it, you can grab the second volume when it streets on April 15th, ahead of the season finale on April 17th.

Vinyl: Music From the HBO Original Series — Volume 1
01. Ty Taylor: “The World Is Yours”
02. David Johansen: “Personality Crisis”
03. Kaleo: “No Good”
04. Sturgill Simpson: “Sugar Daddy” (Theme from ‘Vinyl’)
05. Ruth Brown: “Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean”
06. Otis Redding: “Mr. Pitiful”
07. Dee Dee Warwick: “Suspicious Minds”
08. Mott the Hoople: “All The Way From Memphis”
09. David Johansen: “Stranded In The Jungle”
10. Chris Kenner: “I Like It Like That”
11. Ty Taylor: “Cha Cha Twist”
12. The Jimmy Castor Bunch: “It’s Just Begun”
13. Soda Machine: “Want Ads”
14. The Meters: “Hand Clapping Song”
15. Soda Machine: “Slippin’ Into Darkness”
16. Edgar Winter: “Frankenstein”
17. Nasty Bits: “Rotten Apple”
18. Foghat: “I Just Want To Make Love To You”

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.