‘Spotlight,’ ‘Tangerine’ Win Big at 25th Gotham Independent Film Awards

'Spotlight,' 'Tangerine' Win Big at 25th Gotham Independent Film Awards
'Spotlight,' 'Tangerine' Win Big 25th Gotham Independent Film Awards

The 2015-16 awards season picks up steam tonight with the Gotham Independent Film Awards. Hosted by “Broad City” duo Ilana Glazer and Abbi Jacobson, the event kicks off at 8pm ET / 5pm PT at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. Watch the red carpet pre-show and the entire ceremony via live stream courtesy of Filmmaker Magazine

To celebrate its 25th anniversary, the Gotham Awards have introduced three brand new categories this year: Best Screenplay, Breakthrough Series – Long Form and Breakthrough Series Short Form. Additionally, the 2015 Directors Tribute will honor “Carol” director Todd Haynes, while Helen Mirren and Robert Redford will receive the Actress and Actor Tributes, respectively. This year’s nominees are led by “The Diary of a Teenage Girl,” which boasts a total of 5 nominations, and include Oscar favorites such as “Room” and Spotlight,” as well as underdog contenders like “Tangerine” and “Heaven Knows What.”

Below are all of the nominees for the 25th IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards. Check back through the night for an updated list of winners.

Breakthrough Actor
Rory Culkin in “Gabriel”
Arielle Holmes in “Heaven Knows What”
Lola Kirke in “Mistress America”
Kitana Kiki Rodriguez in “Tangerine”
Mya Taylor in “Tangerine” – WINNER

Best Screenplay
“Carol,” Phyllis Nagy 
“The Diary of a Teenage Girl,” Marielle Heller 
“Love & Mercy,” Oren Moverman and Michael Alan Lerner
“Spotlight,” Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer – WINNER
“While We’re Young,” Noah Baumbach

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
“Bee and PuppyCat,” Natasha Alllegri, Creator (Cartoon Hangover)
“The Impossibilities,” Anna Kerrigan, Creator (seriesofimpossibilities.com)
“Qraftish, Christal,” Creator (Blackgirldangerous.com)
“Shugs and Fats,” Nadia Manzoor and Radhka Vaz, Creator (ShugsandFats.TV) – WINNER
“You’re So Talented,” Sam Bailey, Creator (Open TV)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director
Desiree Akhavan for “Appropriate Behavior”
Jonas Carpigano for “Mediterranea” – WINNER
Marielle Heller for “The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
John Magary for “The Mend”
Josh Mond for “James White”

Special Jury Award for Ensemble Cast
Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery, Stanley Tucci and Brian D’Arcy James for their ensemble work in “Spotlight”

2015 Audience Award

Best Documentary 
“Approaching the Elephant”
“Cartel Land”
“Heart of a Dog”
“Listen to Me Marlon”
“The Look of Silence” – WINNER

Best Actor
Christopher Abbott in “James White”
Kevin Corrigan in “Results”
Paul Dano in “Love & Mercy” – WINNER
Peter Sarsgaard in “Experimenter”
Michael Shannon in “99 Homes”

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
“Jane the Virgin,” Jennie Snyder Urman, Creator (The CW)
“Mr. Robot,” Sam Esmail, Creator (USA Network) – WINNER
“Transparent,” Jill Soloway, Creator (Amazon)
“Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt,” Tina Fey, Robert Carlock, Creators (Netflix)  
“UnREAL,” Marti Noxon, Sarah Gertrude Shapiro, Creators (Lifetime)

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett in “Carol”
Blythe Danner in “I’ll See You in My Dreams”
Brie Larson in “Room”
Bel Powley in “The Diary of a Teenage Girl” – WINNER
Lily Tomlin in “Grandma”
Kristen Wiig in “Welcome to Me”
Best Feature
“The Diary of a Teenage Girl”
“Heaven Knows What”
“Spotlight” – WINNER
Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.