‘The Rocket,’ ‘The Kill Team’ and ‘Broken Circle Breakdown’ Top 2013 Tribeca Film Festival Awards

'The Rocket,' 'The Kill Team' and 'Broken Circle Breakdown' Top 2013 Tribeca Film Festival Awards
'The Rocket,' 'The Kill Team' and 'Broken Circle Breakdown' Top 2013 Tribeca Film Festival Awards

The 12th annual Tribeca Film Festival presented the winners of its competition categories with awards tonight in New York City.

Topping the night with two awards each were Kim Mordaunt’s Australian drama “The Rocket” and Felix Van Groeningen’s Belgian film “The Broken Circle Breakdown.” “The Rocket” nabbed Best Narrative Feature and Best Actor for Sitthiphon Disamoe, while “Broken Circle” walked away with Best Screenplay for a Narrative Film for Carl Joos and Van Groeningen, and Best Actress for its star Veerle Baetens. The locally shot “Stand Clear of Closing Doors,” from Sam Fleischner, got a Special Jury Mention in the Narrative category.

Over in the World Documentary Competition, Best Documentary Feature went to the war film “The Kill Team,” directed by Dan Krauss, with a Special Jury Mention for Sean Dunne’s “Oxyana,” which went on to win Best New Documentary Director.

Below, find the full list of winners.

World Narrative Competition

The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature: “The Rocket”
Special Jury Mention: “Stand Clear of the Closing Doors”

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film: Sitthiphon Disamoe, “The Rocket”

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film: Veerle Baetens, “The Broken Circle Breakdown”

Best Cinematography in a Narrative Feature Film: Marius Matzow Gulbrandsen, “Before Snowfall”

Best Screenplay for a Narrative Feature Film: Carl Joos and Felix van Groeningen, “The Broken Circle Breakdown”

Best New Narrative Director: Emanuel Hoss-Desmarais, “Whitewash”
Special Jury Mention: Emir Baigazin, “Harmony Lessons”

World Documentary Competition

Best Documentary Feature: “The Kill Team”
Special Jury Mention: “Oxyana”

Best Editing in a Documentary Feature: Nels Bangerter, “Let the Fire Burn”

Best New Documentary Director: Sean Dunne, “Oxyana”

Short Film Competition

Best Narrative Short: “The Nightshift Belongs to the Stars”
Special Jury Mention: “Yardbird”

Best Documentary Short: “Coach”
Special Jury Mention: “Royal American”

Student Visionary Award: “Life Doesn’t Frighten Me”
Special Jury Mention: “Reporting on the Times: The New York TImes and the Holocaust”

Bombay Sapphire Award for Transmedia

“Sandy Storyline,” created by Rachel Falcone, Laura Gottesdiener and Michael Premo

Tribeca Online Festival

Best Feature Film: “Lil Bub & Friendz”

Best Short Film: “A Short Film About Guns”

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.