‘The Rover’ Soundtrack Finally Scores A Release With Music By Antony Partos, Sam Petty, Tortoise & More

'The Rover' Soundtrack Finally Scores A Release With Music By Antony Partos, Sam Petty, Tortoise & More
'The Rover' Soundtrack Finally Scores Release With Music Antony Partos, Sam Petty, Tortoise & More

It’s a belated release, but we’ll take it: David Michod‘s “The Rover” is finally getting a soundtrack release. Lakeshore Records will release the album digitally on October 7th and on CD November 11. We revealed details of all the music featured in the post-economic collapse drama during Cannes, but now you’ll be able to actually have the music all in one place. The highlight, beyond existing tracks by Tortoise and William Basinski already available online, is an original score by Antony Partos (“99 Homes,” “Animal Kingdom”) with additional music by Sam Petty (“Animal Kingdom”). Here’s some details from the press release.

Antony Partos is one of Australia’s most awarded film composers. His passion lies in creating innovative scores that morph acoustic with an eclectic mix of bespoke elements. His feature film credits include the Sundance Festival winning film, ANIMAL KINGDOM (starring Guy Pearce and Oscar® nominee Jacki Weaver), THE HOME SONG STORIES (starring AFI winner Joan Chen), DISGRACE (starring Oscar®nominee John Malkovich), and ACCIDENTS HAPPEN (starring Oscar® winner Geena Davis). His scores for ANIMAL KINGDOM, UNFINISHED SKY and THE HOME SONG STORIES have all won Best Original Score at Australia’s most coveted AFI awards.

Sound designer and additional music composer Sam Petty’s first film was THE BOYS in 1996. Since then he has been sound designer and mixer on about 30 features, dozens of documentaries, theatre productions and countless short films, including ANIMAL KINGDOM, LORE and THE HUNTER, as well as additional sound work on titles including THE GRANDMASTER. He has also composed music for many films and documentaries.

The Rover” stars Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson and though it didn’t do super well at the box-office, it’s worth a second look. We placed the film on our Most Underrated Films Of The Year So Far list. the movie is now available on Blu-Ray/DVD and you can win a copy here. Soundtrack track list below.

Track Listing
01. Four-Day Interval – Tortoise
02. Arrival – Antony Partos
03. (No) Vacancy – Sam Petty
04. Crossfire – Sam Petty
05. Campfire – Antony Partos
06. Groundswell – Colin Stetson
07. Pit Stop – Antony Partos
08. Deja Vu – Sam Petty
09. Homecoming – Antony Partos
10. Bonfire – Antony Partos
11. Crystal Waters – Matthias Loibner
12. Two Themes For Rey – Sam Petty
13. Motel – Antony Partos
14. Variation V – William Basinski

Daily Headlines
Daily Headlines covering Film, TV and more.

By subscribing, I agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

PMC Logo
IndieWire is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 IndieWire Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.